Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 09:38 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default Another UPS thread...

Sorry about that,

I read thru a lot of topics ,but need clearer info on the UPSes.

I want to protect the rig in sig. I'm moving to an old house (about 75 years old) in a city. I have no idea of the quality of the wiring (original or rewired), amount of circuits or general electrical "history" of the neighborhood (outages, peaks, brownouts, thunderstorms you know).

Anyway I want to protect the rig from any electrical noise/dirty power/brownout/whatever. 'll be keeping this rig as it is for at least another year.

I'm not after a way to strictly save data, I just want to protect my hardware at all cost. Don't want a brownout to take my SSD, mobo or everything else for that matter.
My PSU is the ANTEC TRUEPOWER 3 650Watts V1. the power draw at the prong, I estimate it at around 400 watts (factoring-in overclock).

I'm afraid I buy a UPS that would not be compatible with my PSU (sine wave thingy???).

I'm considering a 1100-1300VA APC model that they sell locally at Costco for around $150...they do not advertise it on their webpage, but it's a big unit.

Is it what I need? Or is there some line-conditioning devices that can do the job?
I already use a $50 000 warranty Belkin surge suppressor, but I know it doesn't protect from dirty power...
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 09:58 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Iv'e been using a 1300va APC for my folding rig and it has been great. I would think that the one you listed would be more than enough.

As for the sine wave issue, I never heard of that problem. Perhaps the power gurus would be of help, but I would be surprised if you had an issue with this unit and your rig.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 10:03 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 608
Default

Is this it? APC BACK-UPS RS 1300VA LCD 120V
That's what I'm using and am very happy so far.

Give us more details and i'd be happy to offer more info.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 12:00 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Technically speaking, if you're not at all interested in battery backup, a line-conditioner might be a more efficient use of your money. Most lower-end UPS's will do basic line filtering and some buck/boost voltage adjustment, but until you get into the higher-end units, it's all done on a pretty passive/limited level.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 01:00 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

Also make sure it uses a True Sine Wave. If want to get a decent ups and don't mind buying second hand (batteries are usually new though) there is an ebay store called excess ups based out of Toronto that usualy has some pretty good prices. Also dell sometimes have the APC Smartups 1500 on sale for around 200-300 instead of the regular $700 price point.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 01:02 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

APC - Line-R 1200VA Line Conditioner With AVR | LE1200 | Canada's best price

This conditioner is worth $50 on sale. I don't know that etailer, probably wouldn't trust them.

Quote:
Is this it? APC BACK-UPS RS 1300VA LCD 120V
That's what I'm using and am very happy so far.

Give us more details and i'd be happy to offer more info.
In reference with this one, not sure if the one they sell has the little LCD screen or not. The Price is right, but it has "simulated sine waves patern" which MIGHT be incompatible with some PSUs. This is why a "pure sine wave" UPS is more expensive, but also better at providing the real deal. Not too sure if it applies to my PSU.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 01:52 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by misterd View Post
Is this it? APC BACK-UPS RS 1300VA LCD 120V
That's what I'm using and am very happy so far.

Give us more details and i'd be happy to offer more info.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post

In reference with this one, not sure if the one they sell has the little LCD screen or not. The Price is right, but it has "simulated sine waves patern" which MIGHT be incompatible with some PSUs. This is why a "pure sine wave" UPS is more expensive, but also better at providing the real deal. Not too sure if it applies to my PSU.
That UPS will work fine with the TP3 650W
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 02:09 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
That UPS will work fine with the TP3 650W
Nice! And in the event that I want to go Crossfire 5870 next year (and grab a better PSU for that purpose) what would be the PSUs to avoid?
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2010, 05:04 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

A true sine wave UPS is not necessary. Simulated/modified/stepped sine wave UPSes are perfectly fine for electronic devices like PSUs which perform AC/DC conversion before actually supplying the power to your components.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Delavan View Post
Nice! And in the event that I want to go Crossfire 5870 next year (and grab a better PSU for that purpose) what would be the PSUs to avoid?
Ask next year. There's no way to know what will be the PSUs to get and what will be the ones to avoid in the future.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2010, 03:09 AM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Ok Zero82z,

I was just basically taking references off SKYMTL's post in this thread:

Opinions on UPS's
Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL
Interestingly, I can't run either my Seasonic X-Series 750W or Silverstone OP1000 on my Opti UPS TS1700 but both run perfectly on my Tripp Lite 1400VA unit (pure sine wave). No idea why....

That is strange. Only thing I can think of is maybe the PSUs don't like the UPS' AVR, but that still doesn't make sense to me. Are you saying the PSUs won't run on the UPS at all, or just while it's running off the battery? If they don't work with it at all, then it has nothing to do with the simulated sine wave output since that only applies when the inverter is active (otherwise the output is just the mains power run through a voltage regulator, so the waveform isn't changed
I also seen your answer. Are UPSes refundable or only exchangeable once they're unpacked, just in case there is something wrong? Guess I might as well buy local this time, in case something doesn't jive.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UPS - What's this mean? JD Off Topic 13 December 18, 2009 08:42 AM
UPS RIGENSTEIN New Builds 5 November 11, 2009 12:43 PM
UPS again... zlojack Off Topic 23 February 5, 2009 10:22 AM
UPS, at it again Dr_BenD_over Off Topic 14 October 3, 2008 09:21 PM
Grrr!!! UPS Evilyeti Off Topic 20 August 19, 2008 06:37 AM