Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 02:05 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default Opinions on UPS's

High everyone

so i am looking at getting a new UPS, got a decent system with a 850w psu. from my research i think am pulling around 500-580watts from psu calculator ive used.

i whant a unit that will be able to keep my system up for more then 2 minutes to properly shut down everything and have a little juice left.

been looking around and found a few units that am interested in, mainly 2 CyberPower models, the The Intelligent LCD Series CP1500AVRLCD 900w and the CP1350AVRLCD 810w units

i found them for 175 and 155$ (shipping is about 30-35$)

was wondering if anyone as opinions on these or other units like these

Thanks
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 02:18 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,729
Default

I would point towards APC. A well known a reliable brand.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 02:23 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

If your system pulls more than 500w id be surprised (assuming its the system in your Sig). PSU calculators aren't accurate at all, so you system probably only pulls 400w or less at full load (check the HWC GPU reviews for some full load on cpu+gpu power numbers). A 1500VA is extreme overkill then, I'd go with a 900VA if you only need a few minutes for a proper shutdown.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 03:15 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Cyberpower UPSes are pretty good quality. You'd be fine with one from them.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 03:25 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,835
Default

OptiUPS is what I swear by. That and Tripp Lite
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 04:32 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 95
Default

Lieeeeeeberrrrt! (Liebert) They cost, but are a first pick for me.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 04:41 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

yeah its the system in my profile

Thanks for the info, well the more power i can get the better, i don't mind going a bit over board

ill look into smaller units, APC are more expensive thought, i know they are good, got a few at work

i need something good that will protect me against my bad power, i get lots of brownouts and surges here witch reminds me i should also protect my folding rig too someday.

i did find the cyberpower CP1000AVRLCD 600W for 110$ witch could be good.
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 05:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

i prefer apc myself, but the others mentioned(safe maybe a model or two??) are ok as well.

and yeah, 500 watts, even if you count monitor and speakers its a bit much..maybe 350-400?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 05:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

500W is the minimum I'd go with for a system like that. Keep in mind that UPSes have to deal with the draw of the PC at the wall, so PSU efficiency has to be considered as well. You should also not load a UPS up to its full capacity or you could run into problems, like component failure, premature shutdown, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 7, 2010, 06:02 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,144

My System Specs

Default

PC Cyber Canada - For All Your Computer Needs

The store is near" Concordia U " has 1 of these in stock

I am using a smaller one and it doesn't work as well an I would like= more power please
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back-Ups? slay3r HTPC Systems & Software 18 December 18, 2009 09:36 PM
UPS - What's this mean? JD Off Topic 13 December 18, 2009 09:42 AM
UPS RIGENSTEIN New Builds 5 November 11, 2009 01:43 PM
UPS again... zlojack Off Topic 23 February 5, 2009 11:22 AM
UPS, at it again Dr_BenD_over Off Topic 14 October 3, 2008 10:21 PM