Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2010, 03:38 PM
someguyfromhell's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: ...
Posts: 38

My System Specs

Default

Agreed, we need reviews :P
__________________
Specs: C2Q Q9550 @ 3.5Ghz, Asus P5Q Deluxe, G.SKILL F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK, Sapphire Radeon 4890, Cooler Master Silent Pro 700w PSU, WD Caviar Black 640GB, Hitachi 2TB HDD, Windows 7 64bit
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old May 14, 2010, 05:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patramix View Post
well I just received the CP1500AVRLCD, small and sleek.

ill try to do a small write up on the unit some day. so far its working great, the LCD is nice and works well, the monitoring program works well, low footprint on the system, did somehow re-enable hibernate(witch was weird, but i had to disable it)

under idle/normal system use(none-gaming/folding) it gives me an average of 225w on use with a 18-20 minute runtime, under full load(with gpu) it gives me around 11-14 minutes or runtime with an average of 335watts with peaks of 370. now this is with only 1 22" monitor(dam thing takes up almost 27watts).

GPU by it self's seem to take up around 40-70watts under load, with only the CPU folding am sitting at 300watts.

now am just missing a darn FC6 to finish up the build and see what the fans can pull.
Thanks for your report on the CyberPower UPS!

I've been considering the CyberPower CP850AVRLCD. I just hope it's enough for my needs. It's 800VA and the APC I bought (loaned to family member...well, more like 'gave' now :) ) is the 800 XS. I am guessing 800VA will be enough. I can't find the same APC unit anymore and the others above 800VA are A) Expensive and B) some report issues with a fan running all the time. They don't have the LCD readings either.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 10:42 AM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

been a few days, and going well. its quiet, granted its between 2 pc's that produce much more noise so hard to tell really.

eagerly awaiting the first storm or power outage/problems to see how it re-act's.
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 11:04 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

I'm a little late but I like when they have USB port that can auto-shutdown your computer. This is a pretty awesome fonction that really help prevent short.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2010, 05:43 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

the included software is nice, simple and seems to work(still need to test it) only annoyance is a small pop-up on bootup(witch is maybe twice a week for me) that says hibernate is off

but it gives out all the info required and will shut off the PC(still need to test this part)
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old September 12, 2010, 02:09 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 224

My System Specs

Default

Well its been 3 months, and the Unit is working well so far.

had a few power outages(10), under voltages(4) and the unit maintained the power each time, without any problems.

Batteries still maintains 15-17 minutes run time, under average load. it properly shut down my PC when power whent out and batteries where at 5 minutes(this is an option)

so far i am pleased with the units performances.
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old October 12, 2010, 07:36 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

I'm gonna be replacing a pair of APC XS1500's with a single Cyberpower CP1500AVRT... Was trying to spread out the load of an Octo-gpu folding box on 2 older apc's, we'll see how 1 cyberpower 1500 keeps up. I'm a bit leary of its $179 pricetag at MemX, but I guess we'll see.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Back-Ups? slay3r HTPC Systems & Software 18 December 18, 2009 09:36 PM
UPS - What's this mean? JD Off Topic 13 December 18, 2009 09:42 AM
UPS RIGENSTEIN New Builds 5 November 11, 2009 01:43 PM
UPS again... zlojack Off Topic 23 February 5, 2009 11:22 AM
UPS, at it again Dr_BenD_over Off Topic 14 October 3, 2008 10:21 PM