Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 01:42 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default 8pin EPS 12" Extension...

Hi all,

Last time I ordered parts, I added a 12" long 8pin EPS cable extension. I was sick of seeing the 8pin EPS cable passing over my GFX card (Antec 300/Antec Truepower Trio650 PSU mounted at the bottom).

Now, with that extension, I'll be able to re-route the power cable and re-do the cable management so it looks nice and tidy.

Is using these is completely save? I mean could this lead to stability issues due to voltage drops or something? I don't think so, but longer cables is not always a good thing.
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 01:51 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

I dont think there should be an issue or anything. As you add cable length you increase the total resistance of the cable though at those gauges and lengths it shouldnt add enough to make it significant.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 03:57 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

as long as the part is well made, and the connection is secure, you should theoretically and practically be fine. ive used them a lot. besides a dude or two who caught it in the door, pushed it till metal came in contact with case metal

i might be paranoic about it, but always drop a couple of inches of isolating tape over said connection. just in case.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 06:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The PSU will compensate for any voltage drop along the cable. That's what its voltage regulation circuitry is there for. You've got nothing to worry about.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 08:45 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
The PSU will compensate for any voltage drop along the cable. That's what its voltage regulation circuitry is there for. You've got nothing to worry about.
why didn't you tell me about this earlier!!!! I've been avoiding extensions for ages because I was afraid of this!

trust him, the guy's a psu pro
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2010, 09:23 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0o0 View Post
why didn't you tell me about this earlier!!!! I've been avoiding extensions for ages because I was afraid of this!
Why didn't you ask?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 05:29 AM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

because I thought it was a stupid question
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 12:49 PM
Delavan's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Mtl
Posts: 1,149
Default

Quote:
because I thought it was a stupid question
Lol, and I made the original post!
It's ok when you run everything at stock volts, but when you OC you don't want to "introduce" a possible source of instability. That's why I asked
__________________
i7 4770K @ 4.5GHz / Corsair H100i / Maximus VI HERO / 8GB Corsair Vengeance Red LP 1.5V 1866 / N560GTX Ti Twin FROZR II OC / Corsair Performance Pro 128GB SSD / Intel 520 120GB SSD / WD Black 640 GB storage

ROG G53SX laptop: i7 2630QM / 12GB DDR3 / GTX560m 2GB / 750GB 7200rpm (14 000 3Dmarks06)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 12, 2010, 01:46 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

ahh yea sorry didn't mean to offend anyone, I guess it's also because I'm somewhat of a perfectionist xD
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Are two 8pin EPS really necessary? AmuseMe Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 9 April 8, 2010 08:13 PM
[WTB] Seasonic 8pin & 6Pin PCI-E Overclocker~4.1 Buy/Sell & Trade 3 December 10, 2009 07:08 PM
Favorite TV Eps... omgwtf Off Topic 21 June 3, 2009 11:12 PM
Looking for extension cables - 24pin and 8pin MorePower New Builds 4 January 18, 2009 10:51 PM
4pin ATX12v and 8pin EPS connector magictorch Power Supplies 6 December 6, 2007 03:39 PM