Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 05:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default HX1000 enough for two 5970's?

Hey guys, my buddy is building a overclocked i7 rig with two 5970's, he has a HX1000 and is sorely convinced its not enough. I believe it is... but I would like to be sure. If SKYMTL or any other PSU gurus could comment, it would be very appreciated.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 05:52 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yeah- he'll be under 700 watts

Tell him to use a PSU calculator online

Does he have anything else like watercooling, TEC, or a bunch of hard drives?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 05:52 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

It definitely is enough. Even the 850W PSU from Corsair is enough. System full load (Prime95 + Furmark) power draw peaks at ~650W I think, with an OC'd Core i7. Your friend worries too much.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:36 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

We are talking about Quadfire right? I did say two 5970's.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

Its my system he's talking about. I'm not stressed out its just a budding concern as I see reviewers of OC'ed 5970's and Quadfire 5870's using twin PSU's. And to answer your questions 5 hard drives and yes they will be under water but I'm considering a separate power supply for that disaster (3 9x120 rads & 5 pumps)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Want to know the maessed up thing? Hes really not kidding....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 06:47 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 13

My System Specs

Default

By the way Babrbarossa how do you like your Boreas? Can it be custom plumbed?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 07:37 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

It's absolutely enough. In fact, it would be enough for three of them if you were actually able to do that.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel View Post
I'm not stressed out its just a budding concern as I see reviewers of OC'ed 5970's and Quadfire 5870's using twin PSU's.
That's not because they need them, it's because they don't know any better ;).
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 08:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebellionelite View Post
We are talking about Quadfire right? I did say two 5970's.
Yes, Quad CrossFire load power consumption peaks at ~650W. Throw in some headroom for HDDs, DVD drives, fans, WC, 850W is enough. So 1000W is definitely no problem. Plus it's a Corsair 1000W, not just any 1kW PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 09:33 PM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nigel View Post
Its my system he's talking about. I'm not stressed out its just a budding concern as I see reviewers of OC'ed 5970's and Quadfire 5870's using twin PSU's. And to answer your questions 5 hard drives and yes they will be under water but I'm considering a separate power supply for that disaster (3 9x120 rads & 5 pumps)
what are you cooling? a stove element?
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TriFire 5970+5850 gerardfraser Video Cards 12 December 31, 2009 07:47 PM
Longer Accessory/IDE cables for HX1000? Jmark Power Supplies 0 October 18, 2009 02:37 PM
[WTB] Cooler Master Cosmos S, Corsair HX1000 futures Buy/Sell & Trade 1 May 14, 2009 01:46 PM
[FS] Almost Brand New Corsair HX1000 1000W Power Supply Bluefusion Buy/Sell & Trade 10 February 13, 2009 01:29 PM