Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 05:35 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default Putting Cables Back in...

I got tired of taking one cable out at a time while sleeving a PSU and just took all 24 pins out to get it out of my way. Well, they are out and I am just double checking that this is how they go back in:




Just follow this and I should be good?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 06:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Yes, that is the correct pinout.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 08:16 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

That's correct, but my Strider has a fully modular 24 pin cable. If you didn't take both ends off the cable you can simply run pin 1 on one end to pin 1 on the other, and so on. No need to check the charts.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 08:38 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
That's correct, but my Strider has a fully modular 24 pin cable. If you didn't take both ends off the cable you can simply run pin 1 on one end to pin 1 on the other, and so on. No need to check the charts.
Thats how I did my Strider 850W. This one is 1000W (also a strider) but I completely removed the cables first...
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 08:13 AM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

I use that green tape, stick one piece on the 24 connector and cut up small pieces to stick on every wire and number then accordingly. works great after I dye the cables all black (if it's not modular)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 03:47 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Urgent: I was running late and couldn't fully start the computer, but I pressed power for the first time. I made it to the post screen and the one that says "ASUS P7P55D". I than turned off the computer because I was in a rush to get out the door. Does this mean that the cables are back in their right spots? If they where not 100% right, would I even have gotten this far?
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 05:06 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You probably got it right, but if you screwed it up, whether or not the PC will POST depends on how badly you did.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2010, 07:10 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
You probably got it right, but if you screwed it up, whether or not the PC will POST depends on how badly you did.
im actually on it right now just going through a test drive and getting drivers. Must mean that I did it fine. Everything is detected under the Manager, and the CPU overclocked like a charm (he wanted it OCed)
__________________
DEAD CA$H
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2010, 04:22 PM
jtf2's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 167

My System Specs

Default

a cheap psu tester is your best friend,or at least check each line with a meter to see if it reads the right voltage
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Putting a fan on a T.R.U.E somecanadianguy Air Cooling 12 August 8, 2009 12:41 PM
Putting my toe in the water muse108dc Water Cooling 8 November 24, 2008 01:07 PM
help with putting SP3 on a fresh WIN XP? bushwickbill O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 2, 2008 11:26 AM
cables for monitors Tazer-[X] Troubleshooting 9 July 16, 2008 11:08 AM
Will be putting an 8800GTX, 2 hard drives, and an optical into a Silverstone Sugo! Misoprostol Cases 8 January 28, 2007 04:30 PM