Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2007, 03:02 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default 2 PSUs in a Stacker

Anyone here own a Stacker 830? I have one on the way and I'm wondering about the possibility of using both of my OCZ GXStream 700w PSUs in there- I have a watercooling setup and a ton of fans so I'd like to break the load up a bit - also I'm going to add a second loop if I get another 8800 which has been under consideration for some time ;-)- is there room for two loops, two PSUs?? also how much load to you need to put on them to get them to put out power?

I know it would be much simpler to get a 1KW PSU, but yasee, I have these two puppies here.....

Last edited by Babrbarossa; October 14, 2007 at 03:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2007, 10:05 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

You could sure, if you can fit them both in the stacker. You also need to come up with a scheme to get them both to power up at the same time. Use the power switch for the one and get another switch for the back up PSU. May be more trouble then it is worth -Cool no the less.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2007, 07:24 PM
Theblackmages's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 180
Default

you could do it and hot wire em so they start at the same time, I wouldn't do it.the problem is that if you put power for only 12V rails you could do something that's called "Crossloading" and It will break the psu after a while.If you don't put power on the 5V rail and 3.3 at the same time well it does that.just get a bigger power supply and sell those two :P
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2007, 11:31 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

the original stacker came with the wiring connector to run 2 power supplies.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2007, 11:32 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: chilliwack , bc
Posts: 330

My System Specs

Default

heres a link to what it looks like.Dual PSU 24-Pin Adapter Cable Products Model: ULT40011 [ULT40011] : Performance-PCs.com, ... sleeve it and they will come
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 12:33 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

All that adapter is doing is splicing into a ground and the only green wire off the main power supply which is the wire that signals the power supply to turn on.

The issue with this is that as said if you don't apply enough load on the secondary power supply you could possibly burn it out.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 08:44 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,370

My System Specs

Default

I am new at this and am wondering what is the purpose in having 2 power supplies? why not just have a very good single PSU wouldn't you save money that way
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 08:55 AM
Robscix's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 762
Default

He already has the extra PSU laying around.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 11:09 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am new at this and am wondering what is the purpose in having 2 power supplies? why not just have a very good single PSU wouldn't you save money that way
Sometimes you want as much power dedicated from one power to power your system and another to run accessories like water cooling pumps and fans and this helps in taking strain off one power supply and make it work better.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 02:38 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Hmm- any links to discussions on this underload burnout thing? I'll look into this more later tonight.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stacker 830/832 log. lowfat Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 25 January 26, 2008 01:12 PM
Stacker 810 vs Aurora 570 enaberif Cases 22 October 18, 2007 06:10 PM
PSUs: how much power do you really need? Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 7 May 9, 2007 12:16 AM
105 PSUs reviewed! Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 April 30, 2007 05:19 AM
Super Flower PSUs any good? Fielding Power Supplies 9 March 19, 2007 09:37 PM