Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 02:42 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Babrbarossa View Post
Hmm- any links to discussions on this underload burnout thing? I'll look into this more later tonight.
I ran two power supplies in a computer once; both were 400w power supplies and one powered a video card and the other my entire system.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 05:27 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Yikes- I just did one of those PSU calculators and it reported that should have 918KW under 80% load once I add the other hard drive and the overclocked quad core. I know those things aren't exactly accurate, but it's enough to give pause- Anyone know of an accurate psu calculator?

Edit: Looking at this JonnyGuru thread, I think I can relax about needing 1kw, although I wish I had something with less ripple than the OCZ.

Last edited by Babrbarossa; October 16, 2007 at 06:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 06:27 PM
Theblackmages's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal,Canada
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
I ran two power supplies in a computer once; both were 400w power supplies and one powered a video card and the other my entire system.
did both use some 5V and 3.3V or 1 just 12v? also for how much time did you run them?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 07:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,637
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Theblackmages View Post
did both use some 5V and 3.3V or 1 just 12v? also for how much time did you run them?
Ah! Sheet I just remembered how I had it setup :( I had it setup so that it wasn't enabled off the 2nd power supply and both ran independatly... sorry!
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2007, 07:36 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowmeph View Post
I am new at this and am wondering what is the purpose in having 2 power supplies? why not just have a very good single PSU wouldn't you save money that way
Quietness is another factor. Can't speak for the specific PSU's in question, but many units are very quiet under light load, but their fans ramp up to annoying levels at higher loads. If the load is properly distributed, two PSU's at light load can be a lot quieter at a high power level.

But yeah, some PSU's act a little funny at low levels, especially when you're not drawing enough power on the 3.3 and 5 volt rails. It varies from unit to unit, though. Some of the good PSU testers check crossload performance, but I'm not sure if voltage stability during crossloading is a valid indicator of the unit's ability to handle low levels over the long term.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stacker 830/832 log. lowfat Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 25 January 26, 2008 01:12 PM
Stacker 810 vs Aurora 570 enaberif Cases 22 October 18, 2007 06:10 PM
PSUs: how much power do you really need? Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 7 May 9, 2007 12:16 AM
105 PSUs reviewed! Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 April 30, 2007 05:19 AM
Super Flower PSUs any good? Fielding Power Supplies 9 March 19, 2007 09:37 PM