Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:11 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default Thermaltake PSU TR2-420W with ASUS P5B

Hi Guys:

I recently built a system but i am having some issues . When power is turned on the PC the Fans , HD work for about 3 seconds and turns off. Every 5 seconds it turns off and on. No output from graphis adpater.

Here are more info:

ASUS P5B Motherboard.
Thermaltake PSU TR2-420W
Kingston DDR2 2x1GB PC2-5300
Intel Core™2 Duo Processor E7400 2.8GHz
ATI All-in-Wonder HD3650 512MB DDR2 PCI-E Video

Here is what i have done so far :

1. Removed all the devices ( HD, DVD-Drive, Graphics card ... one stick of memory) ... powered the system .... still the same result.

2. Disconnected the 12V EATX molex connector ... powerd the system. All the fans , HD , DVD ..worked continously but no output from Graphis card.

I am leaning towards the power supply ... as being not enough wattage ....

Anyone out there that can advise me... before i purchase a new one.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:35 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Have you tried removing the power cord and pulling the CMOS battery out and letting it sit for a little while? I had a P5B that used to do this every once and a while for no apparent reason and this would resolve the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 06:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Yes i have tried that ...still no luck
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 07:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Just thought about this for a bit and I remember the P5B was very picky when it came to RAM. The P5B will only deliver 1.8V to the RAM on the initial boot and only supplies more if you manually change it in the BIOS. That being said, what is the default voltage on your RAM? Do you have any other sticks of RAM to try in your system?

I'm going off of personal experiences with my P5B where I had to get el cheapo RAM from Futureshop that only required 1.8V to get into the BIOS and bump the vRAM up to 2.1V and then install my Crucial Ballistix afterwards to get them to work.

I know most DDR2 sticks should at least boot at 1.8V, but this was not the case with the P5B (or at least mine anyways).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 10, 2010, 09:24 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Default

The voltage of the RAM is 1.8V . I have 2 sticks of the same.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermaltake Launches New TR2 PSU's Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 1 December 4, 2009 10:46 AM
Asus P5B-Deluxe Wifi/AP motherboard + MOSFET waterblocks Apollo4g Buy/Sell & Trade 3 January 12, 2008 12:50 PM
FS: Asus P5B-VM DO Q965 motherboard silverchair Buy/Sell & Trade 6 January 10, 2008 06:56 PM
Comment Thread for Thermaltake Purepower Rx 600W PSU SKYMTL Power Supplies 7 October 2, 2007 08:31 AM
Intel D975XBX2 vs. the ASUS P5B deluxe….P965 vs. 975X philmar CPU's and Motherboards 51 March 28, 2007 04:12 PM