Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 06:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7
Default Power Supply Help/Advice

Hi,

Currently my system is:

Antec Earthwatts 430w
Asus P5Q-E
C2D e4300 (Soon Q6700)
BFG 8800GTS 320
4 x 1gb OCZ Platinum
2 x 320gb Sata Seagates
1 x 500gb IDE Seagate

I know I am probably going to have to upgrade as soon as I get my Q6700? What PSU would you suggest for this system without it being an overkill?
Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 07:10 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

VX550 from Corsair or at most HX650.

If non Corsair is more your thing, a Thermaltake TR2 or TRX 650W should suffice for sure. ALways give yourself some headroom so your not running the Unit at max capacity.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2009, 11:28 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

You don't need to change your PSU. The 430W Earthwatts is plenty.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 05:34 AM
misterd's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlottetown, P.E.I.
Posts: 603
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
You don't need to change your PSU. The 430W Earthwatts is plenty.
Agreed. You're coming close if you're maxing both the video card + cpu at the same time. If you were going to upgrade your video card too then maybe I would consider it.
__________________
#hardwarecanucks on irc.freenode.net
fiat justitia ruat caelum

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 11:44 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 7
Default

Alright - thanks for the advice guys.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 12:03 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Richmond Hill
Posts: 8,539

My System Specs

Default

Only reason to upgrade your PSU would be if you were to go SLI or put in a much higher end graphics card into the system, since you're only doing the processor you should be fine
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2009, 02:04 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

I still would feel better with that Rig knowing at least 550W were behind it, espically if OC'ing it.
People underestimate how Power Hungry those GTS's are, Lemonlime knows first hand...

And that is a High POwer Consumption 65nm Quad Core...

Your Hardware, your Choice Ultimately but I wouldn't do it myself.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] power supply 650+ power supply j-ronde Buy/Sell & Trade 1 March 31, 2009 09:45 AM
sub $100 power supply advice... Mumbly Power Supplies 0 March 5, 2008 03:55 PM