Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 09:01 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default Accurate Usage

I am thinking of merging 2 computers in one mega box :) i did a calculation on the PSU i normally use (extreme outer vision) and was wondering how accurate it is.

Specs.

P5Q Pro
Intel E8400
8GB DDR2 PC-6400
9x 1TB WD Black
XFX 4890 XT
1x DVD-ROM
1x DVDRW
Dell Perc 5i
Corsair HX750

The calculator says around 545 Watts based on a capcitor aging of 20% and 100% peak load.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 12:59 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

BS. If you can pull anywhere near that much from the wall with that hardware, you've probably shorted something, and should grab either the power cord or a fire extinguisher. Yeah, you'll have a fairly high start-up current with those HDD's, but you'll never load the CPU and GPU before they're finished spinning up.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 01:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Doubt it will pull anywhere near 545W from the wall. My PC (with HD4850 mind you) and 22" LCD drew under 400W during OCCT PSU Test I believe.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 28, 2009, 01:16 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

OCCT can make my computer pull about 550W from the wall (insofar as my UPS can('t) be trusted), but my CPU is at 4.5Ghz and I have a metric ****load of fans and pumps. Factoring in the rated efficiency of my PSU, it's pretty doubtful that my computer is actually pulling over 450W.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2009, 03:59 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

The 20% capacitor aging probably addes over 100w. Try it without the aging and see how much. Actually I'll do it :) brb
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2009, 04:29 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,568

My System Specs

Default

K well I put in everything you've listed and put "Overclock my CPU" to 4000MHz and 1.3v, added a soundblaster card(all models), I ddin't know what kinda slot Dell Perc uses so I put it as x1 PCI-e, I added 4 120mm fans and I still only got 515w with 20% capacitor aging and 429w with no capacitor aging. That seems normal to me?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2009, 04:54 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

well considering i am typing this from a computer with 9 HDD now i think it's fine :). i'm running some benchmarks based on 8MB testing as this array is going to be used mostly for files in excess of 4GB each. Will post the results if you like.
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Usage when Folding Chos3n HardwareCanucks F@H Team 21 October 30, 2009 10:23 PM
Mysterious CPU usage Bucklaz Troubleshooting 10 September 12, 2009 05:05 AM
pf usage under windows xp.. omgwtf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 4, 2009 11:23 AM
Accurate CPU temperatures? Below_Cost Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 6, 2008 02:17 PM
core usage question Jim CPU's and Motherboards 2 July 12, 2007 06:32 PM