Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 07:00 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,722
Default 4 Pin ATX to supply an unlocked 550BE?

Alright, so this is a PSU/MB/CPU question... but I guess this is the best place to put the thread.

I'm going to be attempting to unlock my 550BE, but I'm not sure how the power consumption change is going to work from 2 to 4 cores if I'm successful. The reason I ask is that I currently have an OCZ StealthXStream 500W PSU that comes with a 4 pin ATX connector. I have this plugged in to the 8 pin ATX slot on the MB. (Primary in sig) Before I try to unlock, do I need to get a new PSU with an 8 pin connector? I'm not sure if the AM3 quad cores, unlocked or stock, require this. Or is 4 pin fine in this case as the wattage supplied is fine? (I know I'm approaching the peak of what my PSU outputs, but I hesitate to upgrade it as it's been an awesome workhorse and it's almost dead silent.)


*EDIT* - Photo to clarify:


Last edited by Caldezar; October 5, 2009 at 07:54 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 07:02 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Im not familiar with that PSU, but if its a single-rail type you should be fine... But let's wait and see what everyone else says, before I open-mouth-insert-foot. lol
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 07:55 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,722
Default

Actually, it operates on a dual 12v rail
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 08:13 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Eeek, so then its one rail for the CPU/Mobo and one for the PCIe connectors most likely. That might be pushing that lil PSU a bit much, and may cause instability if you OC very high. I'd say try it, but keep an eye on your 12v rails using a multimeter. If you see them start to droop lots when you load the CPU, i'd suggest a beefier PSU (Single Rail, 600-750w, good quality) which will last you far longer.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 08:27 AM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,722
Default

Actually, I'm not really concerned about the PSU as it has a built in cut-off. If it hits a draw of even a single Watt over it's rated capacity, it'll shut off immediately. It's kind of a pain in that I know it's capable of pushing about 575W, (It's internally an identical PSU to the Silverstone Strider ST50F) but it's nice to have a fail safe that's so dependable. I'm actually much more concerned about the CPU having issues. Will it cause issues or hurt the CPU to try this?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 08:39 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 2,026
Default

If your PS has issues then your CPU will too. Don't chance it.
__________________
"What is the colour when black is burnt ?" - Neil Young
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 12:59 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,067

My System Specs

Default

That being said, and Running a PSU to Its absolute MAx, and or Peak Constantly will shorten its lifespan considerably.

I wouldn't do it, but thats just me.

Regards,
ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 01:02 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

It's not going to magically hurt your CPU if you only have four pins instead of eight connected, and I don't believe I've heard of any motherboards deactivating options if a full 8-pin plug isn't used. But if the chip winds up pulling enough power, eight pin are better able to provide it, helping to ensure stability while overclocking. But even with four pins, you're not going to be exceeding current limits on the wires, or anything of that sort.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 01:17 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

I'd think with only two 12v wires going to the board for power (and only 1 rail) that a heavy load spike on an OC'd CPU will cause a huge vDroop and therefore probably a BSOD. I'm with ST on this one, just get a better PSU and "be safe rather than sorry".

On a side note: Check out reviews of the new Seasonic X-750 Psu, its absolutely amazing if you're looking for a quality replacement.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 5, 2009, 01:31 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The 4-pin connector is fine, and you're nowhere near reaching the maximum load capacity of your PSU. It's not the greatest unit, but it's certainly plenty for your needs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Phenom II X2 550BE (UNLOCKED) punk_zappa Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 75 August 30, 2009 12:45 AM
8 Pin 12V ATX Connector element291 Power Supplies 6 August 24, 2009 09:52 PM
Sleeving 24-pin ATX connector LC0g Guides & How-to's 19 May 19, 2009 07:18 AM
8 pin ATX cable the_bandit87 Troubleshooting 5 June 8, 2008 02:12 AM
Legit Review Has Sneak Peak - Ultra Products 2000W ATX Power Supply Supergrover Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 January 3, 2007 08:34 PM