Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 05:12 PM
RomeArsen's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default powersupply just bit the bullet... need a new one

alright so im needing a new power supply

i have an asus m2n-e mother board, amd athlon 64 x2 6400 cpu, evga nvidia geforce 9800 gt, just bought G.SKILL F2-8500CL5D-4GBPK DDR2 ram...

the current power supply i have just bit the bullet lol which really sucks, it was a thermaltake 450w

anyways i was looking at the Corsair TX850W 850W CMPSU-850TX 12V 70A 24PIN ATX Active PFC 140M Fan Power Supply

would this be sufficient enough? and will it actually work with my computer...? i don't know a whole lot abuot computers by anymeans... so help would be great :D

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 05:17 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

That PSU is a great PSU, but its by any means way overkill. You could easily use a quality 500w PSU or get a 650w to have more room for upgrades, but you do not need such a high wattage (unless its cheaper).

Will this PSU work, yes it should work as long as your previous one was ATX form factor, but bear in mind that this PSU will probably have more cables that will be longer, so u will need to put those cables somewhere.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 05:21 PM
RomeArsen's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default

yeah my old psu is a thermaltake tr2 450 watt

and the psu im looking at is only $118

oh and i just bought another hd as well.... Western Digital WD1001FALS Caviar Black 1TB SATA2 7200RPM 4.2MS 32MB 3.5IN Dual Proc
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 05:31 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,358

My System Specs

Default

What would make you come closer to needing a 850w PSU would be if you SLIed(or 3 SLI) or Crossfired 2 high end GPU(like a GTX 275 or an HD4890) and when I say come close, I don't mean that you would be close to be maxed out.

That HDD you added barely changes the load on the PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 05:35 PM
RomeArsen's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default

oh ok, i did forget to mention i am looking to upgrade my computer completely by hopefully the new year... so i was looking to get some better stuff for it..

like its currently used to play games such as crysis, diablo2 and 3 when it comes out and use photoshop, autocad, finale2008, and whatnot... don't know if that would really make a difference though
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 05:46 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 973
Default

id recommend a pc power n cooling turbo cool 650w
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 06:52 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

Just out of curiosity which psu would you recommend to run 2 or 3 mid-ranged SLIed video cards ?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 07:30 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

Corsair TX650 or TX750 dpeending on your upgrades you want to do, when you'll run out of power with this, you'll have enough money to buy a bigger PSU.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 07:44 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,049

My System Specs

Default

In some cases SLI has more to do with having enough PCIe connectors on the PSU to supply the cards.

8800GT/9800GTs use 1 6pin PCIe connector, so the average 650-750 watt PSU would do it, as they come with 4 PCIe connectors.... you'd even have one left over after going tri-SLI.

On any of the video cards that have 2 PCIe connectors on them then you're looking at the 900 watt plus powersupplies for tri-SLI, and the cost goes through the roof.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 2, 2009, 07:49 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

Corsair TX750W will be more than enough, even for further upgrades. But you may find the TX850W on sale...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any benefits of installing Windows 7 64 bit vs 32 bit? HoTiCE_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 5, 2009 05:35 AM
Powersupply Question CORE Power Supplies 5 May 25, 2009 01:42 PM
XP Pro 32 bit - Upgrade too Vista Ultimate 64 bit Maxtor O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 13, 2009 04:34 PM
Need a 12V Powersupply Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 8 January 12, 2009 05:48 PM
Small Powersupply Cptn Vortex Cases 5 November 6, 2007 06:02 PM