Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 02:55 PM
cryostage's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Default silverstone zeus 1200w with X58 C +V12 rail issue

if someone has this setup can you please tell me what your +V12 is running at
for some reason this PSu is Running @ +V12.03 with 2 gtx 295 + 250 on Idle
in the Bios as well in vista with 8 fans and 1 pump

just want to know if this psu has issues
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:30 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Um.... the +12 rail running at 12.03 is normal, good, and within spec... Plus zlojack on here run the SilverStone Zeus ZM1200M on the EVGA Classified just fine, though I'll let him pop in and mention it for himself.

So my question is this, what is your question?
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:31 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

yup, sounds about right to me. are these software measurements or are you measuring with a volt meter directly on the wires at the connectors?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:32 PM
cryostage's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Default

i was using the bios
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:32 PM
cryostage's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Default

but even on load it does not increase it just stays at 12.03 even in bench
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:36 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cryostage View Post
but even on load it does not increase it just stays at 12.03 even in bench
The SilverStone ZM1200M is rated for 1% regulation, that means that from zero load and full load the +12V rail will/should never move/change by more than 1%, or .12 volts in either direction. Second of all, software measurement(bios or otherwise) is USELESS.

Its an extremely stable PSU, which seems to be working perfectly in your system, so again, I ask, whats your question?
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 29, 2009, 03:45 PM
cryostage's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 74
Default

you just answered my question thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No Rail Switch on Zeus ZM1200? zlojack Power Supplies 33 September 4, 2009 02:22 PM
FS: Silverstone Zeus 1200W zlojack Buy/Sell & Trade 10 November 16, 2008 10:05 PM
Silverstone Zeus 750W Mulder Power Supplies 14 June 25, 2008 10:49 PM
Silverstone Zeus 1200W Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Power Supplies 16 March 10, 2008 06:49 PM