Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 06:00 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default Power Supply Requirements

Would this:
Yang Ming International - Rackmountpro.com

Power this:
matx board
775 21xx
1 or 2gb memory
1 or 2 500gb hard drive
1 optical sata drive
1 hauppage 350
1 8600 nvidia
1 7.1 audio card

I'm assuming yes as its 400w and seems to have a good 12v rail.

Last edited by enaberif; July 31, 2007 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 06:19 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,996

My System Specs

Default

More than likely it should be good. You might want to check this out : eXtreme Power Supply Calculator Lite v2.5

I use it fairly often when im not sure about a powersupplies abilities. Im using it right now myself to see if a 240/250 watt shuttle 1U power supply would power my upcoming build (see modt htpc build log thread)
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 31, 2007, 06:52 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Yah it'll be for a htpc which is why I was wondering;; smaller = better :D
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 11:51 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

Why would you want a 1U rackmount PSU for a HTPC?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 01:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Cause its small :P and provides enough power :)

Can you think of a downfall?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 01:32 PM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,645
Default

Because it is long and will not fit properly in an ATX PSU mounting area.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 01:40 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
Because it is long and will not fit properly in an ATX PSU mounting area.
Who says I'm using a normal case ;)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 01:56 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Cause its small :P and provides enough power :)

Can you think of a downfall?
Might be a side note but did you make sure your tuner card and what not are low-profile or will fit a 1U case?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 01:58 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav View Post
Might be a side note but did you make sure your tuner card and what not are low-profile or will fit a 1U case?
Won't be used in a 1u case :) Gonna be all custom.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 02:22 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Well, if anything it sounds like it will be an interesting project. Can't wait to see the results.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about power requirements (specifically HD2600 Pro) Kev Vikanova Video Cards 2 November 27, 2007 09:35 PM
Is my power supply enough? Shepherd Power Supplies 3 August 19, 2007 09:32 PM
Power Requirements enaberif Power Supplies 6 July 10, 2007 06:20 AM