Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 04:37 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,709
Default 550W PSU to power a 4890?

So I know it'd be pushing it, but do you think a Corsair VX550W could power an X2 550 and a single 4890 running on a Gigabyte 790x MB? Keeping in mind there'd be no OC'ing, 2 HDD's and a single optical drive. I know that it would be more ideal to have 650+, but would it be truly necessary?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 05:25 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

yeah, you're fine
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 05:27 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

the corsair 550w would be plenty for that set up. i doubt you be maxing out the cpu/gpu 24/7 365 days

there are reviews out there that states an i7 and a 4890 at stressing it only pull about 350W from the wall.

i really see no point in going anything higher than 550W for your setup. and yea ncix has that corsair 550w for $60 and i bough a corsair 400w last week while i wait for antec rma
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 06:21 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,709
Default

Thanks for the heads up guys. I figured I'd be fine, but I've never looked too hard in to wattage calculations and I don't want to be walking the blade's edge with my PSU. I would have rather spent extra on another 100 - 200W. But good to know I'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2009, 10:38 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Caldezar View Post
So I know it'd be pushing it
Not even close.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 07:44 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

550W is more than enough for a 4890 card. Heck, I am running a heavily overclocked system with 5 hard drives and dual 4890 cards on a 2 year old 750W PSU. Even after capacitor aging which reduces the effective available wattage, it is still running well. :)
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:03 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,680
Default

2 years isn't enought to induce much capacitor or component aging.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 08:21 AM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
2 years isn't enought to induce much capacitor or component aging.
Normally perhaps not. However, this PC is on 24 hours a day for real.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 12:57 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Here's Xbitlabs test, the graphics card is a HD4890 and they're testing different CPUs. As you can see, you're in the safe zone by miles.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 03:04 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,709
Default

This is really good news, and I'm really surprised actually. I thought it would be close for sure... So this means that, should I be lucky enough to get an unlockable X2 550, I shouldn't have any issues with a quad core either?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] LF: 80plus Certified Power Supply (PSU) Krisso Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 12, 2009 01:41 PM
Looking for a low power (but good) PSU foxman Power Supplies 14 November 19, 2008 08:15 PM
Corsair PSU...Not enough power? random_2 Power Supplies 43 March 12, 2008 05:09 PM
Corsair Introduces New 450W and 550W Power Supply Units Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 1, 2007 12:34 PM