Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 10:07 PM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default Teaming Power Supplies for Single System

So this is a short question but is it possible to use two power supplies for one system? I'm thinking of doing this since getting two power supplies for the same single power supply with equivalent wattage is much chaeaper. Looking at building a folding rig with 4 gtx260 216's, a 790fx and a x3 710. With OCZ StealthXStream 500W's $30 after MIR at Canada Computers getting two is just $60 + tax.

In this case, I'd be hooking up 2-3 of the gtx 260's to one power supply while the other is powering the last video card and the rest of the system. Would I be able to hook up the case switch to power on both power supplies at the same time or turn on the video card psu on first and then the mobo psu second? I'm assuming the second scenario is also possible since a dead mobo can have a video card with a fan spinning and powered up afaik.

And yes I know, a $100 corsair 750w is nice but that $40 can go towards another 9600gso

So in short..will it work?
__________________


Last edited by CroSsFiRe2009; July 4, 2009 at 06:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 10:22 PM
fefox's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Manitoba N50° 15.5944', W101° 2.2833'
Posts: 324

My System Specs

Default

Short Answer -YES-
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 10:36 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
So this is a short question but is it possible to use two power supplies for one system? I'm thinking of doing this since getting two power supplies for the same single power supply with equivalent wattage is much chaeaper. Looking at building a folding rig with 4 gtx260 216's, a 790fx and a x3 710. With OCZ GameXStream 500W's $30 after MIR at Canada Computers getting two is just $60 + tax.

In this case, I'd be hooking up 2-3 of the gtx 260's to one power supply while the other is powering the last video card and the rest of the system. Would I be able to hook up the case switch to power on both power supplies at the same time or turn on the video card psu on first and then the mobo psu second? I'm assuming the second scenario is also possible since a dead mobo can have a video card with a fan spinning and powered up afaik.

And yes I know, a $100 corsair 750w is nice but that $40 can go towards another 9600gso

So in short..will it work?
Short answer? Yes.
Good idea? No.

Get a single GOOD psu and call it a day.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 12:02 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: London
Posts: 1,411

My System Specs

Default

I would do it with two good PSU's and use the mobo connector. But for what you have, an HX1000 would be worth the cost tbh.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 12:30 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I remember this being discussed before. Perhaps what you need is one of these.

Thermaltakeusa»Accessories»Drive Bay»Toughpower Power Express 650W : Toughpower Power Express 650W W0158RU
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 01:33 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,716

My System Specs

Default

Just get a single good PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 05:13 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

i good psu . that would be my choice too.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:18 AM
CroSsFiRe2009's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,111

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the replies guys. Haven't decided for sure which route I'll go but it's good to know dual psu's is a viable option
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:24 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

I think I'd be nervous hooking up 3 GTX260 216's up to a GameXstream 500W. You know the folding is going to max them out, and they've got a TDP in the 150-160W range, and OCZ's GameXStream series really don't seem to test well under higher loads.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2009, 10:54 AM
Trial Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Default Notes on using dual PSUs

I have two systems that use dual PSUs. It isn't absolutely necessary; as others have pointed out above, you could just use one good PSU. But I can tell you that your system will never be quiet if you're running 4 powerful GPUs off of one PSU (I mean modern GPUs that require two power connectors each, not the weaker ones that have only one connection).

For example, I have a Folding@home rig that hosts two 8800GTXs and two 9800GX2s. My Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250 can handle all of that, but it's as loud as a vacuum cleaner. So instead, I'm using two quality, high-power PSUs, splitting the load between them. In this manner, neither is being called upon to deliver even 50% of its rated capacity; and so both PSUs remain blissfully quiet. And this quietude is worth it to me to go to the trouble of dual PSUs.

By the way, as far as I know, there are only about 3 cases on the market that are designed to house two PSUs...otherwise you'll need an open rig of some sort. The Nzxt Khaos and the Antec P190 both come with a cable that starts both PSUs at the same time; otherwise you could buy a dual-PSU adaptor cable from PerformancePCs.com (it was less than $10, if I remember).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Power supplies needed yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 4 February 24, 2009 12:35 PM
Can I use two Power Supplies? Infiniti Power Supplies 19 January 22, 2009 08:44 AM
[WTB] Power supplies [multiple or single] n-sanity Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 16, 2009 03:36 PM
Modular power supplies - what do I really need etc Nodscene Power Supplies 3 December 11, 2007 04:49 AM
Power Supplies enaberif Power Supplies 1 January 24, 2007 11:17 PM