Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2009, 02:34 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 89
Default 500w psu enough?

ok my friend upgraded his computer to a q6600, 8800 gtx, p5k mobo, dvdr, 1tb hdd. Anyway he bought a 500w psu, which i thought was enough to hold those components, but on initial powerup, the lights flashed for 1 second and the psu just died. At first i thought something maybe disconnected inside but no, i tried the green to black wire trick and the psu won't start.. Is 500w enough? If not whats an affordable psu, he paid $60 for this one, the most he can spend is $70, which is already pushing it.
__________________
Case: Haf 932
Cpu: i7 920 D0 @ 4ghz
Mobo: Evga Classified
Ram: G.Skill Tridents 6gb ddr3 2000
Video: Evga GTX 295 Red
Sound: Titanium Fatal1ty pro
PSU: Corsair Hx1000
Storage: 2x WD green 4tb & 2xWD Black 1tb, 1x SG 500gb
Cooling: Heatkiller 3.0, Mcp655, Gtx360 with 3 Ultra Kaze fans, Ek 150 w/cyclone
4x Side Fans: Yate Loon D12SL-12C

Controller: Kaze Master, Soundgraph veris premium htpc
Dual OS: Windows 7 64x

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2009, 07:01 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,943

My System Specs

Default

What brand is this 500W?

Brand means everything, if it's not a well built PSU, then no it won't work. However a well built 500W should be able to power that fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2009, 07:23 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
What brand is this 500W?

Brand means everything, if it's not a well built PSU, then no it won't work. However a well built 500W should be able to power that fine.
agreed

My Corsair VX 450 Watt will power pretty much any Core 2 Duo/Quad with single GPU setup. It has powered an E8400 @ 3.6 with GTX 260, an E2160 @ 3.2 GHz with GTX 260/4870 1 GB, Q9450 @ 3.8 GHz with GTX 260, and finally the rig in my sig (although I retired it now and purchased a TX 750, I'm planning on an xfire setup when the 5xxx comes out)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2009, 07:40 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,048

My System Specs

Default

I concur with everyone else that a 500W should have no problem powering that setup. Go with a Corsair, OCZ, PPC&C, Seasonic, or even maybe an Antec, depending on the model.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wtb: Psu ~500w chouchou Buy/Sell & Trade 2 November 3, 2008 05:37 PM
WTB: 500w+ PSU in Ottawa. Skyllz Buy/Sell & Trade 11 October 21, 2008 11:28 PM
A teaser of the 500W PSU Roundup!! SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 9 March 14, 2007 06:37 AM