Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 04:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default Power Requirements

not for me but a hypothetical question...

system consists of a q6600
2 8800 gtx
4 hard drives

what do you figure the min power supply should be?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 04:39 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

I'd have to do more research, but gut feeling for myself is that I wouldn't go with anything less than a high quality 750 or 850W.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 07:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga, ON
Posts: 88
Default

overclocking?
__________________
ASUS P6T
Intel i7 920 @ 3.8GHz w/ 1.35v
3 x 2048MB PC3 12800 OCZ Platinum XTC @ 1528MHz (7-7-7-20) w/ 1.6v
2 x Sapphire HD 4870 1GB
SoundBlaster X-Fi Platinum
2 x WD1500ADFD RAID 0
4 x WD5000AAKS RAID 0+1
Tt Armor Aluminum Tower
Enermax Galaxy 1000W DXX
DELL 2405FPW, 1905FPW
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 09:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,797

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cujo View Post
overclocking?
that is the major point right there.

I have no doubts a good 620W corsair would power it, but once OC'ed it might be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 10:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,473
Default

debate was that a ocz 700w wouldn't do it and no, no overclocking.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 4, 2007, 02:27 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
debate was that a ocz 700w wouldn't do it and no, no overclocking.
My concern with the GameXstream 700 would be the fact that the second PCIe rail isn't dedicated to just the card. It shares it's load with HD's and such.

That said.... doesn't the second card in an SLI rig draw a lot less power than the main one?
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 10, 2007, 06:20 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

Too bad I am getting into this late. I would have to say the Antec Truepower Quattro 850W is what you should be looking at. That PSU is one of the best on the market these days and it is really priced to move:

http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ufacture=ANTEC
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about power requirements (specifically HD2600 Pro) Kev Vikanova Video Cards 2 November 27, 2007 09:35 PM
Min Psu requirements DarkLloth Power Supplies 13 August 20, 2007 09:15 AM
Power Supply Requirements enaberif Power Supplies 9 August 1, 2007 02:22 PM