Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 10:33 AM
Alwaysrun's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Qualicum Beach BC
Posts: 802

My System Specs

Default Custom sleeved 6 plug Pcie power cable

Awhile back while I was parusing either XS or EOC forums I saw that someone had customized thier pcie power cable on thier Tri-SLi setup. It was one of the most elegant clean ribbons that I've ever seen and I can't for the life of me find the original How-to. Does anyone know what I'm talking about?

It looked something like this.


This modder made it look so very clean with the ribbon type power cable running vertically it just looked spectacular with all three of his video cards powered in-line. Also the guy somehow bought the 6 pin pcie plugs where the lines came into the plug at right angles so the whole ribbon connected flush to all his video cards. Damn I wish I could find it again as it's such a beautifully elegant mod. :help:
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 04:43 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs


Bit-tech has quite a few examples of this, and I know a few people here have modified their SATA power cables to this. I agree that it does look damn awesome.

For PCI-E though, wouldn't they need to use wire that's thicker than originally? Because I assume that the amount of current flowing through only two cables for three cards would be insane. This would look amazingly nice.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 17, 2009, 05:37 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,145

I expect that it would be so-so as far as the wire is concerned. PCI-E specs call for 75W/6-pin connector, and that's spread across three 12V lines, so you wind up with a maximum of a little over 2A/wire, which isn't a huge deal. The bigger question might be the PSU's rail distribution and connector construction. Safest bet might be to use a single-rail PSU, take power off two of the PCI-E cables, and then join them near end, for the part that's actaully visible.
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power a fan with a floppy power cable? andynerd Air Cooling 4 December 26, 2008 01:50 AM
Xonar dx plug in power WolfBane Audio 1 December 22, 2008 09:47 AM
Desperate: Power cable for ASUS Xonar DX scrawledinwax Audio 27 May 13, 2008 09:22 AM
SoG's Custom Power House NoL Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 28 March 27, 2008 06:59 AM
power/reset button and cable magictorch Cases 2 November 28, 2007 01:09 PM