Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 05:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: St.john's
Posts: 133
Default PSU question...

Hello,

This is prolly a silly question that has been asked before but I am just curious. Lets say a have a Corsair 1000HX running an Intel quad core and 280GTX, would the power supply draw 1000w from the wall or only what it needs to power the rig??.

Thank you
__________________
My Rig:

Gigabyte 890GX / AMD Phenom II x6 1055 / Crucial Ballistix Tracer 4GB / EVGA GTX470 SC+ / Stock Cooling (Yet) / Corsair TX850 / Corsair Nova 128GB SSD / Antec 902/ Windows 7 PRO 64 bit/ 24" Acer LED Monitor
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 06:10 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

only what it needs
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 06:12 PM
aviduser's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 381
Default

HowStuffWorks "How PC Power Supplies Work"

Only uses what it needs. (beat me to it)
__________________
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 9, 2009, 08:24 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,819

My System Specs

Default

I think really old PSUs would draw full out power all the time, but yeah anything recent only draws what the components need.

Still that doesn't mean you should run a 1KW PSU if your PC really doesn't need it as the efficiency would most likely be lower at low power loads, so you'd be better off with a suitable PSU and enough load to get it running at it's peak efficiency. Though of course this probably won't save you tons of money on electricity, but if you're concerned about it then yes it will.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU question DavidDemise Power Supplies 3 March 22, 2009 12:44 AM
Question for SKYMTL !!!! (or other PSU gods) Delavan Power Supplies 21 February 6, 2009 03:17 AM
Looking for a new PSU ChuckleBrother Power Supplies 18 October 17, 2008 06:26 PM
basic(?) psu question - dual rail combined ratings ccm001 Power Supplies 7 March 26, 2008 04:58 AM
need PSU suggestions, current PSU isnt cutting it Rains Power Supplies 13 December 11, 2007 07:53 AM