Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 02:22 PM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114
Default SLI Question

Hi Guys!
I just want to know if a 850Watt Power supply (Corsair) can handle SLI of Evga GTX 260 SSC edition? I'm having doubt because in the powersupply it says max 70 Amps on +12 rails but my Evga Gtx 260 SSC edition says it needs 32 Amps. If i put two Gtx 260, it will be 72Amps. Can my powersupply handle that?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 02:52 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

2 x 32 is 64 amps, not 72. And you will be fine, that's a great single-rail PSU. You could probably run 2 x GTX285's off it.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 02:53 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Should be fine yah
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 02:58 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

the 32A recommendation for the GPU is 32A for the total system...not just the GPU. i have run two GTX260 (192sp) with a single 560W Silverstone Zeus (38A single rail) no problems. you should be more than fine with a quality 850W unit like that corsair.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 02:59 PM
CORE's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 114
Default

oops sorry about that math :P thanks guys!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 05:11 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

Yep, nice PSU, will power that without a sweat.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2009, 11:21 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah im running 2 9800GTXs on a 750w and these cards draw similar power to the 260s and my PSU isnt even struggling, I think at max load im probubly pulling no more then 450w from the wall.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 06:02 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Deep River Ont/Omaha NE
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

I've got that PSU and it's been providing more than enough power for my build; check my sig for the details.
__________________







Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 07:54 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Thread Jack

So yea, since the thread was called SLI Questions

Anyways, would i be pushing it a bit if i put 3 G92 512mb on a 650W?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2009, 11:33 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah id think so, thats alot of power to be drawing off a 650w psu....
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes