Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 06:20 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
Thread Jack

So yea, since the thread was called SLI Questions

Anyways, would i be pushing it a bit if i put 3 G92 512mb on a 650W?
If it is a GOOD power supply like a Corsair/PC P&C/Silverstone/etc... then it will run it but I have to agree that 3 GPU's on a sub 800W power supply is asking for a stressed out PSU.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 09:10 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

3 GPU's Tri Sli = Min 850W, I'd go straight for a 1kW with that arrangement.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 4, 2009, 09:35 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default



So that means i can get away with dual G92 512mb then

Thanks guys, i won't get the third

Forgot to mention, the system: 45nm C2D, P5Q-E, 2stick DDR2, 2 G92.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2009, 05:28 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,489

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
3 GPU's Tri Sli = Min 850W, I'd go straight for a 1kW with that arrangement.
Way off. A good 750W unit would be plenty. I have yet to see a consumer system that even came close to actually needing a 1KW power supply.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2009, 02:46 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Way off. A good 750W unit would be plenty. I have yet to see a consumer system that even came close to actually needing a 1KW power supply.
Although it has been proven that a 850W Corsair "could" operate 3 x GTX 280's it IS NOT recomended!! Simple......believe me b1LK1...I DO my homework mt friend and don't BS.....then again I guess I don't know "jack"...
I DO know that many claim throough Power consumption tests that a 850W PSU will run Tri Sli 280's, as for 750W...go for it and we'll see just how long your Rig lasts...

As stated, if you "respect" your Rig you won't f-ck around with anything less than a 1kW for a Tri Sli 280 / 85 arranegement....

You're way off my friend stating a 750W PSU is enough...so that folks that don't know any better will take that as gospel and wind up with a "hooped" Rig or ongoing hard-to-diagnose PSU issues.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2009, 03:44 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

RJ, re-read the thread. He's talking about 3 x 9800GT's, not 3 x GTX280's. Power requirement is way less. 1 6-pin connector each.

Would I put 3 on a 550w? Nope. Would I have done it on my Silencer 750w? Yup.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2009, 05:16 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Alright....THAt would make sense....3 x 9800GT's yes...3 x GTX 280's..yikes...
thanks Sugar....
Sorry for the "mis-understanding Blk1"
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 5, 2009, 07:16 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

For a sec i was lost in the woods

Good to know the right infos ,

Thanks guys
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes