Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 09:47 AM
Nxt38's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 47
Default PSU suggestion for a HP?

okay so I got this HP pc last year for 700 dollars...

I thought it was a good bang for the buck but turns out the psu is only 380w

I want to upgrade the psu soon and I plan to make a graphic card upgrade in the near futrue (HD4850 most likely)

what would max wattage would you recommend with my system?

Also any suggestion on product?

specs and hardware:
Q6700
HD3850
DDR2 4g
2x 500G 7200 SATA HD
DVD-R
memory card reader, network card, etc
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 19, 2009, 02:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

Assuming it's a standard ATX PSU, I'd go with a Corsair 550W or 650W.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 20, 2009, 07:11 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 743
Default

HP=bad customization/upgradeability

My old P4 HP machine didn't accept standard ATX PSUs. I hope they've changed that, for your sake.
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932
CPU : Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
RAM : 32GB DDR4 2400MHz (G.SKILL Ripjaws)
HDD : Main: 240GB SSD SATA2 (Intel) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
PSU : 750W Corsair Modular PSU
MoBo: Asus X99-A
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080 + random 4:3 monitor

Level/Game Designer, Programmer
http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 10:47 AM
Nxt38's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 47
Default

frankly I have no idea.
the tower is medium size, so I assume that it fits.
... or I hope... really for my sake
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:19 AM
Nxt38's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 47
Default

Looks like the power supplies are standard ATX.
what should I expect to spend on the power supply and can anyone point at a specific model for me to look at? :D
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:24 AM
Mr. Gruntsworthy's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Courtice, ONT
Posts: 743
Default

Maybe go with a PC Power Silencer 610W or something similar from Corsair. You won't need any more than 650W (For reference, my machine runs off a 610W PC Power Silencer)
__________________
MAIN RIG:
Case: CoolerMaster HAF 932
CPU : Intel i7-5820K 6-core @ 3.3GHz
RAM : 32GB DDR4 2400MHz (G.SKILL Ripjaws)
HDD : Main: 240GB SSD SATA2 (Intel) Storage: 3TB SATA2 (WD Green) Backup: 500GB External USB (Hitatchi)
GFX : Gigabyte GTX 970 4GB
PSU : 750W Corsair Modular PSU
MoBo: Asus X99-A
View : Acer H213H 21.5" @ 1920 x 1080 + random 4:3 monitor

Level/Game Designer, Programmer
http://mikeseguin.webs.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:26 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,955
Default

Customizing a HP just isn't worth the money.

Lack of airflow, lack of room and all sorts of other headaches.

Generally a lot of psu that you will try may not work depending on how hp has their board, psu, or power switched hooked up.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2009, 11:36 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default

You'll have to look for a PSU typically marked "HP upgrade" etc; unless you KNOW what connectors your system will require and if the PSU has it.

Provided the connectors are correct I suggest the Corsair CX400 - I have one running a similar system with a 4850 already.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 12:25 AM
Nxt38's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 47
Default

basically I will just have to find the spec for installed PSU and find a new psu with all the connectors that the old one had?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 07:44 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

If you post the model number, or even open up the case and take a bunch of pictures, we should be able to determine if a ATX PSU would fit and work.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
board suggestion ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 4 March 11, 2009 11:00 AM
board suggestion ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 0 March 11, 2009 09:48 AM
Need suggestion for OC romeodelanoche Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 11 November 6, 2008 08:48 AM
Suggestion qwerty Suggestions & Feedback 5 October 16, 2007 02:22 PM
ram suggestion skyline510 RAM 9 September 15, 2007 09:55 AM