Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 07:00 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default PSU to run a GTX285 and 9800 GX2??

I am currently running with an OCZ 850W Gamer extream. Just wonder if that woulg be sufficient if I slapped a 9800 GX2 in Rig 1 to complement my folding?
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 08:14 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

4 Rails at 15A a piece...Should work I would think. I'm not 100% on the power consumption of those cards however.

On a side note, I've noticed that OCZ PSU's have low Amp Rails...compared to other Brands of Similar wattage.

I'd say give it a shot, but thats just my opinion.

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 01:57 AM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

Really I guess my best bet would be building another dedicated folding rig but I can't afford that right now. Can't really afford the 9800GX2 right now either but BA Hines is going make me step up my folding again if he gets a new card. Once I get past him I don't want him to catch me again.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 04:02 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,226

My System Specs

Default

Where did you find a GX2?

You might want to do a bit of searching in the forums here before you take the plunge. They're PPD monsters, but a few of our members have been having issues with them.

edit: How many days???? :)
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 05:36 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,404
Default

The answer is....NO.

YOu will need a new PSU. The GameXstream 850W does not have a proper rail layout needed to run a pair of high powered GPUs.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 05:44 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,048

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
The answer is....NO.

YOu will need a new PSU. The GameXstream 850W does not have a proper rail layout needed to run a pair of high powered GPUs.
Thanks Sky, I was thinking the same thing but Was hesitant because I'm not familiar with the Power Requirements of those cards, and everything I've read is conflicting lol.
There ya go Cashe, you've heard it from the Expert.

To pipe in with my own thoughts, get a PC Power & Cooling / Corsair / Ultra 750+.
All single rail with 60+ amps. That should cover you.
:)

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mountain Mods Watercooling on GTX285 SLI + i7 Toronto122 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 17 March 25, 2009 05:31 PM
My new GTX285 OC CasheKicker Video Cards 5 February 19, 2009 04:08 PM
EVGA Releases GTX285 FTW Edition Eagle Eye Press Releases & Tech News 6 January 30, 2009 02:56 PM
EVGA Geforce GTX285 officially announced Eagle Eye Press Releases & Tech News 13 January 10, 2009 08:20 PM
BFG Announces NVIDIA GeForce 9800 GT, 9800 GT OC, & 9500 GT Graphics Cards MAC Press Releases & Tech News 0 July 29, 2008 09:53 PM