Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 01:29 PM
squilliam's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Default how far can the corsair TX750 go exactly?

Ok, as many may know, the Corsair TX750 is only certified to go up to dual 8800gtx in SLI...BUT....many people on newegg are saying that it can go up to like dual 260 or even higher, and even this website says that this power supply can probably do a lot more than what it's listed at. Anyways, I was wondering if anybody that owns this PSU could clarify exactly what it's capable of, thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 04:43 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

See my sig. And prior to the dual 260s, it did dual 280s no problem...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 04:56 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Really? But didn't the TX750 only have one 8pin PCI-E? Or did you use an adapter?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 05:01 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Adaptors.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 15, 2008, 07:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON
Posts: 105
Default

I believe all 4 of my PCI/E connectors have the extra two pin adaptor built into the cables on my TX750 (mine is a couple months old).

Not that is really relevant, but my VX450 Corsair PS ran my e2160 OC'd to 3.4Ghz at 1.5Volts, with my GTX260, and a bunch of hard drives without complaining. I upgraded to the TX750 because of connectors, not because of lack of capacity. The single rail corsair power supplies are great.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 06:42 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

I have an old variant of the TX, but the newer models do have 4x 6+2pins.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 08:03 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 598

My System Specs

Default

How far? 900W but ripple touching maximum specs.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 08:36 AM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Wow... that is impressive to pull out of a 750W PS.

I suppose that means it will be more than enough for your needs!

ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 07:28 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 14
Default

I've seen reports of them running two 280's without problems. Of course, if anyone doesn't mind me doing some shameless review plugging, this one should have even less trouble when it hits the market:

JonnyGURU.com - Power Supply Reviews and more! - Reviews - Corsair TX850 Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 07:33 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Oklahoma Wolf View Post
I've seen reports of them running two 280's without problems. Of course, if anyone doesn't mind me doing some shameless review plugging, this one should have even less trouble when it hits the market:

JonnyGURU.com - Power Supply Reviews and more! - Reviews - Corsair TX850 Power Supply
Hot damn!!!

That's going to fill in current gaps quite nicely!!!!

NOBODY needs a 1200W PSU, but 750W might not offer enough of a comfort buffer for some folks (myself included if I were going to run 2 top end vid cards).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
8800GTS G92, TX750, NeoPower 650w, G Skill, OCZ werth Buy/Sell & Trade 18 November 25, 2008 07:56 AM
Corsair VX550 Enough? BALISTX Power Supplies 9 July 26, 2008 02:56 AM
Corsair TX750 PSU Review Comment Thread SKYMTL Power Supplies 22 March 25, 2008 02:02 PM
Corsair TX750W Cptn Vortex Power Supplies 5 November 4, 2007 09:55 AM