Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 10:45 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Here's an honest question, for the new system im building (Quad socket opteron build, multiple hard drives, GTX295, server motherboard) the calcs all say i need around 950-1000watts under load... I really really do not want to undercut my PSU. So should I hang on to my dual-rail Silverstone stride 1Kw, or get the 1200w version? lol...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:08 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

1KW is overkill, I see no reason you would want to change to anything higher.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:35 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Dude.... 16 cores, going to have 16 sticks of ram soon, GTX 295.... at least 6 hard drives soon..... How can anyone be sure about the numbers with a system like that? im definitely not sure...
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:38 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,403

My System Specs

Default

The main rig in my sig is pulling 470w while folding. the PSU calculator says I need 800W.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:40 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Hmmmm, really? Well you do have an enermax 85+.... my strider is only about 80-something, but i guess ill give it a shot.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:44 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Check that... just double checked... 70A between the two 12v rails (35A each).... Makes me uncertain, lol.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:51 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,503

My System Specs

Default

All kidding aside, do not trust/believe any software calculator. They tell me my PC will pull 600W+. The highest reading I have ever seen on my kill-a-watt was just under 400W. I have a ton of gear in my PC including water cooling and a bunch of fans, 3HD's, etc.. THe choice is yours if you just gotta spend more $$$, but that Silverstone will eat up that system you want to build. I would be more than shocked to see it pull more than 750W full load.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 12:56 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Alright then gents. Strider stays!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Calculator Shredder Power Supplies 6 August 1, 2008 09:05 AM
Power Supply Calculator Shadowed Power Supplies 14 April 15, 2007 10:05 AM