Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 12:08 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default Is my PSU sufficient?

Im planning on getting a quad soon, just wondering if my OCZ StealthXStream 600W will be able to power it.

It's currently powering:

Asrock ALIVENF6P-VSTA mATX mobo.
FX-62 (2.8ghz stock)
EVGA 9800GX2
80GB WD IDE Drive
500GB Seagate SATA Drive
2GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800

I plan on upgrading to:
Gigabyte EP45-UD3R
Q6600 - Plan on overclocking to 3GHz
Xigmatek HDT-S1283
Reusing 9800GX2, Hard Drives, and 2gb crucial ballistix ddr2-800

Thanks in Advance
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 01:09 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

yup- that should do you fine.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 01:31 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Ok thanks for the response. Was just a bit worried if overclocking the quad core to 3ghz would draw a lot of power or not.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 01:31 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Yep... no worries. Should you decide in the future to switch mobo's and SLI those beastly GX2s , or go to XFire...getting a new(stronger) PSU would be prudent.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 01:35 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,784

My System Specs

Default

If it's powering an FX-62 it should be fine with your new gear. That said, if it were me, I'd be putting a newer PSU on my short list of what to pick up next. :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 02:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If it's powering an FX-62 it should be fine with your new gear. That said, if it were me, I'd be putting a newer PSU on my short list of what to pick up next. :)
Eventually I will, but a FX-62 can't nearly draw as much power than a Q6600 @ 3ghz can it?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 30, 2008, 02:42 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bazookaworm View Post
Eventually I will, but a FX-62 can't nearly draw as much power than a Q6600 @ 3ghz can it?
On average, yes. The FX62 probably draws more @ idle and mid-loads. Remember that most apps don't use more than 2 cores, so even though you would have 4...it doesn't mean they're in use. Now... at full-bore 100%/4 cores(and O/Ced-vCore increased)... it'll use more than the FX62.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes