Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:27 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Question GTX260s SLI'ed and HX620W: enough?

GA-X58-Extreme
i7 920
Raptor 74Gb
260GTXs SLI'ed, 196 shaders
HX620W

Feasible? The Online Power wattage calculator (for what it's worth) says 525W at 100% load. Am I pushing the limit of the PSU? Remember that I'll be BOINC'ing and Folding that rig - 100% usage.

If not, I'd rather stay modular. Antec Quattro 850?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:33 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

I don't think you can do that since the HX620 have just 2 PCI-E connectors and not 4.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:35 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

According to the Corsair calculator, they recommend a 1000 watt

Welcome to Corsair :: Power Supplies

Check it out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:37 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default



Here goes another item in my sale thread.

Thanks for the heads-up.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:37 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

I won't trust calculators, a TX750 is plenty for this setup but since you want modular, the Quattro 850 is a good bet.
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:40 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

I will say NO. IMO you will be pushing that Corsair PSU a bit too far.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:40 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

It's just too bad that Corsair doesn't fill the gap modular-wise between the 620 and the 1000.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:42 AM
Xilikon's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 448
Default

I checked your FS/FT and noticed that you sold a HX1000... This one would have been perfect for your setup
__________________
Xilikon - Team 33

Proud to be [H]ard !
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:43 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

I know, but it just too damn huge!

edit: ST75F should be fine, right?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 18, 2008, 07:44 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
It's just too bad that Corsair doesn't fill the gap modular-wise between the 620 and the 1000.
They will. Very soon. Welcome to Corsair :: Sorry, Page Not Found
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes