Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Power Supplies

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 01:13 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default Sli with my psu?

My psu is an "sli ready" OCZ StealthXstream 600w, but only has 2 6pin pcie connectors, both of those are used for my single 9800gtx atm. Basically im wondering if a could use 2 6pin adaptors and run a second 9800gtx, ive already looked into the wattage and apparently i require about 400w with an e8400 highend mobo, 4 dimms, all my hdds etc and 2 9800gtxs. Only thing im not sure about is wether the rails will have enough amps if i use the adaptors and if they do which ones i should be using. Heres a pic of the sticker on the side with all the info. If i AM able to run 2 of them with this psu id likely buy an sli mobo so i could upgrade later on to 2 cards.
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 02:08 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,975

My System Specs

Default

It shouldn't be a problem. The OCZ 600W is based of an FPS Epsilon AFAIK still so it does have quite a bit of 12V fluctuation when the rails are loaded, but i still think it should manage.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 04:37 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
It shouldn't be a problem. The OCZ 600W is based of an FPS Epsilon AFAIK still so it does have quite a bit of 12V fluctuation when the rails are loaded, but i still think it should manage.
Im just thinking, if i were to use the adaptors now and run it off the other rail and its stable, would that mean itll be stable when a second one is added as well? or will the load being on all rails be the issue?
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 04:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

How do the adapters work? Would all of the power be coming off of a molex? If so you'd be drawing power for the second card off of the same rail as your HDDs and other accessories, so in theory it should be ok, but IMO, you're going to be running that PSU at well over 80% capacity which is never a good idea.

I'm thinking it's time for a new PSU.........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 04:57 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
How do the adapters work? Would all of the power be coming off of a molex? If so you'd be drawing power for the second card off of the same rail as your HDDs and other accessories, so in theory it should be ok, but IMO, you're going to be running that PSU at well over 80% capacity which is never a good idea.

I'm thinking it's time for a new PSU.........
This psu is a month old lol, i wasnt buying one with sli in mind as i was going to get a p45 board and originally an ati card. Nom i have this 9800 and i still need a new mobo and realised this psu says sli ready, so if its doable i would get an sli board just for upgradability by adding a second card instead of scrapping this one for a more expensive one. Id also like to flip the psu and mod my antec 900 for it but if this psu wont last more than a few years i dant want to do that. Also it has a 3 year warranty incase it gives out over time.

And yes theyre 2 molex to one 6pin adaptors
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 25, 2008, 05:06 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonwall View Post
This psu is a month old lol, i wasnt buying one with sli in mind as i was going to get a p45 board and originally an ati card. Nom i have this 9800 and i still need a new mobo and realised this psu says sli ready, so if its doable i would get an sli board just for upgradability by adding a second card instead of scrapping this one for a more expensive one. Id also like to flip the psu and mod my antec 900 for it but if this psu wont last more than a few years i dant want to do that. Also it has a 3 year warranty incase it gives out over time.

And yes theyre 2 molex to one 6pin adaptors
This PSU may be SLI rated, but that was before cards required 2 connectors per card. It's up to you, but I honestly think you're taking a chance of either setting your rig on fire, or damaging components with dirty power.

I wouldn't even consider doing what you plan with less than a quality 600+ PSU like the HX620, and even that I'd only consider doing for the time it took for a proper PSU to arrive in the mail.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes