Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2013, 01:57 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 348

My System Specs

Angry HP PSC 1315 not scanning

I got this multifunction device Hp PSC 1315 from friend, because he says that it suddently stop printing, yet it scan well - for this only thing. Scanning. It is a compact thing: http://content.hwigroup.net/images/p...p_psc_1315.jpg
...with the lift off top for the scanning:
http://www.superwarehouse.com/images...p_psc_1315.jpg

This is the interface:

HP PSC 1315 interface

...yet on mine is in the number of Copies (as shown "1") are shown "E" and the red LED diode on the "Check printer cartridge" is flicking. No real reactions on the buttons anyway. Except more flicking LEDs, lol.

Using the latest v4.2.1 drivers from there:
Software & Driver Downloads HP PSC 1315 All-in-One Printer | HPģ Support
In Photoshopu with the "Import / hp psc 1310 series TWAIN..." it shown this window:


HP PSC 1315 scan

...it witch nothing works. That is on Windows 2000 SP4 with the HP "Win2k " drivers v4.2.1 witch obviously did not work on W2k.

Windowns of course claim that all is OKAY:


HP PSC 1315 test passed

...and there was not a problem with the install. Using the WIA interface it tell me, that the scanner is busy, probably by "other application":



On Windows XP SP 1.0a it looks much better:



...yet still refusing to scan anythng. But once I did managed to make it scan. (IIRC I opened the door for the cartridges, close it and use the WIA preview for scan...?) But on reboot/shotdown it stoped scanning again and never do it. Yet I have few scans I did with it as a proof: Galerie

So I'm getting pretty angry with this thing and I tried Win XP SP3 - yet no change. Then I managed to find a czech version of the install CD drivers v4.2.0 - yet this is very slightly older, I tried it on clean Win XP SP1.0a again. And again nothing :( All is OK, yet the printer still complaining about rhe cartridges and refuse to scan, when I already scanned so well!!! :mad:

This is crazy.

Obviously HP PSC 1315 not working with a Active Jet AH-657N and AH-656N cartridges, however it did scan for my friend and it even show that me - but just a show. What can I do to make it scan? I absultely did not want to print with such problematic thing, the whole section can be ripped off. But what to do to make it scan?
Or is there a firmware downgrade possible to even make it back working with the cartridges?!

Anyone have, preferably the smaller web drivers, any older version of the drivers that the v4.2.0 ...? ( Hp PSC 1315 driver v4.2.0 cz.rar | Ulo?.to )
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 10, 2013, 05:07 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

The issue is likely Windows Fax and Scan, which automatically installs basic Windows drivers when it detects a scanner.

Open up the program (Start -> Windows Fax and Scan) and see if you can scan through that. In Windows XP I believe it is called something like Camera and Scanner Wizard.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2013, 12:05 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 348

My System Specs

Default

Yep, I actually did that. That is the czech screenshot, the WIA interface. Just once I manage it to work and after restart, everything is GONE (eg. mthe functionality). That is not a HW fault, but rather driver/firmware fault, that force user to have a original HP ink cartridges even for scanning, as it seems to be the case. Hence I looking for how to downgrade the firmware and/or use older driver. Anyone got a older install CD or older driver that v4.2.0 for HP PSC 1315?
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2013, 03:40 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

get a set of hp cartiridges when empty drill hole in top an fill with aftermarket ink needle & syringe

shame that you can buy a whole printer with ink is cheaper then buying the ink set
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 11, 2013, 03:50 AM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,853
Default

Instructions How to Reset the HP PSC 1315
1)Turn on the PSC 1315 by pressing the "On/Resume" button until it lights up. Ensure the printer's USB cable is securely plugged into the back of the machine and the attached computer.

2)Remove the power cord from the back of the printer. Do not unplug the other end of the power cord from the power outlet.

3)Press the power cord back onto the metal plugs located on the back of the printer. Make sure you insert the power cord completely into the plug area to ensure a proper connection.

4)Press the "On/Resume" button on the printer's control panel until it lights up. Allow the printer to complete its warmup process.

5)Attempt to print with the device if no error messages are displayed.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2013, 06:21 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 348

My System Specs

Red face

KaptCrunch - if I had money to invest into getting scanner, I would get one rather that play with this HP insanity. However I did not :( I wish I have, but I just can't... Therefore I would like to make THIS thing work, because I desperately need the scanning to work. However the thing is getting on my nerves...

I managed to get drivers for HP PSC 1315 v3.0.0.0.76:
hp psc 1315 drivers cd v3.0.0.0.76.zip | Ulo?.to
...but once again, absolutely no change in behaviour.

The idea to get the original HP cartridges is probably the best one. Looking there:
NŠplnž pro HP PSC 1315 | TisknuLevne.cz
...I come to conclusion that I need (at best firmware downgrade to make the old cartridges work, but that is probably not getting to happen... dunno why) cartridges C8727AE (10ml black) and C8728AE (8ml color), or C6658AE (17ml photo) - C6656AE (19ml black) and C6657AE (17ml color) or C6656GE (4,5ml black) and C6657GE (4,5ml color)...

No idea where to get them for free, since not only I did not mave money right now, but also I will _NEVER_ pay for any HP crap after experiencing this nightmare.

As for reset - don't worry, I did that COUPLE of times, I trie many different computers, etc. Absolutely no help. Sorry...
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2013, 06:55 AM
Nodscene's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 920
Default

If you can't afford a scanner check Kijiji or whatever is similar in your country. You may have some luck either finding a new scanner or another printer/scanner with the cartridges you need.
__________________

Create something idiot proof and they will make a better idiot.
_____________________________________

Intel Q6600 - Gigabyte EP35-DS4 - OCZ Reaper 4gig PC2-6400 - XFX 8800GT 512Mb Alpha Dog - AuzenTech X-Fi Prelude - Alesis M1Active MK2 - Corsair HX-620 - Silverstone Temjin TJ05B-X - Scythe Katana 2 - WD Raptor 150Gb - Seagate 7200.11 750Gb x2 - Samsung SH-S203N
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 6, 2013, 03:24 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 348

My System Specs

Default

I have to keep asking, if anyone have broken original cartridges for this thing, that it is. No luck of knowing anything similar to Kijiji there. I just need to scan and the damn thing refuse to do so... I'm in big surprise, that no-one develop a 3rd firmware for these things, that will bypass the security checks for cartridges, etc.
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2013, 12:02 AM
trodas's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 348

My System Specs

Wink

One my good friend give me HP PSC 1510 for a try. W/o the powersource. Luckily, the powersource is identical from HP PSC 1315 and I make it work. And - despite my high doubts about it - HP PSC 1510 is scanning fine even with the cartridges completely removed! Hoooray!
Now I have a working scanner, ufff!

HP PSC 1315 - never more, ever.
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... :) my config
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 19, 2013, 05:35 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,408
Default

Good to hear you got it fixed!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Neat new printer from Lexmark; flash scanning chrisk Peripherals 1 December 31, 2010 05:30 PM
Scanning Photos p3t3rson Off Topic 6 July 14, 2010 07:33 AM
WinTV-HVR 1600: Channel Scanning jerm Troubleshooting 8 December 26, 2008 09:43 PM