Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2012, 11:30 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 345
Default Anybody here ever experienced a double clicking mouse ?

Well needless to say , this is pissing me off to no end. I had an Iraki Steelseries laser mouse for a while then I started having issues with it. The right click felt it was getting sticky and then I had the double click issue. Everytime I click once it would click again. Very annoying in game. So I decided that it was time to put that mouse to rest and buy a new one.

I decided to pick up the same mouse because even tho I had issues with the previous one it still had lots of mileage on it and I accepted the fact that it was getting old. Well low and behold , 3 months after I bought the new one.. double clicking started again. I've googled the issue and most people seem to think that it's hardware related. I'm kind of ticked off considering how new this thing is but I see no other choice but to replace it with a new mouse. Any recommendations ?
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 01:07 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Default

Can you return it or is it too late for that? I had the same thing happening to a Logitech mouse a couple of months ago (it was very old though and had worked perfectly so far). I replaced it with a Razer DeathAdder and it's a dream to use so far.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 02:08 AM
supaflyx3's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Chilliwack BC
Posts: 2,547

My System Specs

Default

Ikari laser isn't produced anymore, so returning it for a new one isn't a possibility. Have you tried taking it apart and cleaning it with alcohol?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 02:19 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 104
Default

No I haven't, I just figured it was dead. But I guess you could try since you can't return it anyway. It might do the trick. ;)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 05:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Get a warranty replacement.

If you can't and don't mind DIY, open up the Omron switch and bend back the spring.

EDIT: Be careful not to break it, although replacement switches are cheap the shipping is usually expensive.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 08:10 AM
Fleurious's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Tottenham, ON
Posts: 137

My System Specs

Default

I had that issue with a brand new CM sentinel mouse, I figured it was probably a finicky switch, it eventually went away with the help of some angry clicking sessions.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 08:17 AM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,130

My System Specs

Default

On my deathe adder running a peace of paper though it where the switch is cleans out most of the human elements that cause problems with my 6 year old mouse.
:)
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 09:13 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cold Lake , Alberta , Canada
Posts: 345
Default

I'll try some cleaning tonight I suppose.. I'm not getting my hopes up tho.
__________________
Gaming Rig
Core i5 4670k 3.4ghz
EVGA GTX 780 3Gb Classified
Dell U3011 + Yamakasi Sparta 301
Asus Z87-A
12GB Dominator 1800
Samsung 840 pro 256gb
Corsair HSX 1000watts
Mountain Mod UFO-U2
Razer Deathadder 2014
Logitech G510
Asus Xonar Essence STX
Sennheisers PC360
2 X 150GB Raptor X RAID 0



Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 10:15 AM
samhell44's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 46

My System Specs

Default

hey dude i got a guide for you atleast you wont go blind on it Repair mouse with double click problem
its not the same mouse but should be almost the same sensor hope it helps ya
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2012, 10:18 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,407

My System Specs

Default

I have a mouse doing the same thing I took it apart no problem but broke one of the little clips putting it back to gether and ended up crazy gluing that part... well the mouse still works .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Dragon Case Mod-reverse double ATX) Dalchi Frusche Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 3 November 10, 2011 10:46 PM
clicking noise on my Seagate Dashock Storage 14 January 1, 2010 09:30 PM
Experienced shippers.. send to postoffice and pickup? 0o0 Off Topic 26 December 13, 2009 01:45 PM
Clicking yate loons... aviduser Air Cooling 12 July 8, 2009 10:14 PM
Weird Clicking tim333 Troubleshooting 5 May 6, 2009 08:42 PM