Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2012, 07:55 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default need a kvm switch

situation: i have my computer with windows 7 64 bit on it, need dvi for monitor and the keyboard and mouse are wireless.

i also have a server with WHS on it.

i would ike to get a kvm so i dont have to clutter with an extra monitor ( probably be cheaper though)

is there a kvm out there that will work with win7 64 bit and WHS?

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2012, 08:27 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

Wht not a RDP / VNC solution?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2012, 11:46 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Default

the porblem way back, with a different MB in the server, was that even though i could access the server through the "console" on my machine, there were sometimes that it would do a hinky shutdown.

i could hear the drives all spin down but the fans were still going.

you are right, if i cant get it to shutdown i will try your solution.

thx

rob123
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2012, 09:24 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

yeah, RDP is the way to go. I dunno if you game much or not on your win7 box, but i've tried FPS games through a KVM once and it totally sucked.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2012, 04:25 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,589

My System Specs

Default

If it's not over the same network, I'd heavily recommend the free program Team Viewer as it's very straight forward in its setup and use.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cpu switch brando533 CPU's and Motherboards 9 December 29, 2011 05:07 PM
switch or router BrokenHalo83 Networking 9 August 22, 2011 09:33 AM
How switch HDD to SSD Kilauea Mobile Computing 17 June 10, 2011 02:09 PM
Odd Switch Problem Arinoth Networking 5 December 9, 2009 02:01 PM
My Switch Mod kcksteve Networking 0 September 24, 2007 04:25 PM