Hardware Canucks

Hardware Canucks (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/)
-   Peripherals (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/peripherals/)
-   -   Gotta find one... don't know where... (http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/peripherals/51783-gotta-find-one-dont-know-where.html)

Reyzac February 20, 2012 01:18 PM

Gotta find one... don't know where...

'Sup all,

Just a quick question, I need a bit of an odd cable, a USB to Mini-USB cable that's at least 50ft long. Anyone know (preferably locally) where I can pick one up?

sswilson February 20, 2012 01:29 PM

I'm by no means an expert, but according to the wiki that would be well over the limit for USB spec....

Quote:

Cabling
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...d_Pair.svg.pnghttp://bits.wikimedia.org/skins-1.18...gnify-clip.png
A USB twisted pair, where the "Data +" and "Data -" conductors are twisted together in a double helix. The wires are enclosed in a further layer of shielding.

The data cables for USB 1.x and USB 2.x use a twisted pair to reduce noise and crosstalk. USB 3.0 cables contain twice as many wires as USB 2.x to support SuperSpeed data transmission, and are thus larger in diameter.[37]
The USB 1.1 Standard specifies that a standard cable can have a maximum length of 3 meters with devices operating at Low Speed (1.5 Mb/s), and a maximum length of 5 meters with devices operating at Full Speed (12 Mb/s).[citation needed]