Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 06:24 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default good cheap KVM 4 port with vga + ps/2

Anyone using a good cheap 4 port KVM switch?!?!?

im looking for one and ive came across this one : http://www.ncix.com/products/index.p...ogies%20Inc%2E

which is 21.09$ on DC

any experience with those, what you think of it?!?!?!
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 07:03 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

in my extensive experience with KVMs...all of them are decent to a degree but even the most expensive of KVMs will have issues with some hardware. sometimes its the mouse like scroll wheel not working or 5th buttons or what have you, sometimes its the keyboard or the video card. i have had motherboards refuse to work with some KVMs but then they work with a cheaper one.

if you go over the comments for that particular model at NCIX, you will see some have 0 issues while others have a couple small issues and some have complete failures. in all likely-hood, it all comes down to the hardware each person is using and some of it simply not being compatible. for $30 or even less at DC w/4 cables...it won't get any cheaper and is worth a try. the chances of it being bad and having a lot of compatibility issues is high but like i said, sometimes the cheaper KVMs are the best as far as that is concerned.

and don't ask me to recommend a KVM because like i said, it all comes down to your Keyboard/mouse/GPU/MB and is really luck of the draw IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2008, 07:56 AM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

the KVM will be use to run a ftp/print server and a web hosting server, the 2 other port woul dbe use to repair costumer computer so hardware will change quite often on those .... i dont wanna have 2-3 screen + keyboard/mouse on my desk ... that why im going with a KVM.

but thanks for your comment i will consider that KVM in a near future
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
port 22 closed? nick_black Troubleshooting 4 March 6, 2008 12:14 PM
WTB: 3870s as cheap as possible. topaimz Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 4, 2008 08:35 PM
Cheap Ram at NCIX tom.mullie RAM 5 February 9, 2008 05:56 PM