Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 08:32 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default KVM Software

I would like to know from the one who are using software KVM, like Input Director, what they like and dislike, especially if you have performance degradation, crash and bug.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:28 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

I use Input Director , it works great , the only things I don't like ( but it is not a huge issue) ,is that I forget to set it up so that when only one pc is running and my mouse drifts over the edge of the screen I get a pop up telling me "slave system "IP ADDRESS" failed to respond do you want to skip this slave". but like I said that isn't a huge issue and this happens because I have the software setup to load at boot.
the other thing is I always forget that I can only copy paste txt writing and not files from one desktop to the other, it would be great if I could copy or drag or cut and paste from one desktop to the other. I usually end up just putting the file into a folder that is part of my net work when I need files on other system.

Other then those to small issuse I have the software is great .
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:32 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Do you have the lastest version, on their website they said you can :
" Shared Clipboard - copy and paste between computers (including files!)"
what about pics, can you copy and paste them ?


Kavoom have a feature to copy files , pics but the web site is not update, as they define Vista as the latest OS ,


KaVoom! Software KVM Switch
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 09:41 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,815

My System Specs

Default

There's also Synergy Plus. It's more common in the Linux world I suppose, but it works on Windows too.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 10:04 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
There's also Synergy Plus. It's more common in the Linux world I suppose, but it works on Windows too.

and as I see it work on Linux and Mac too.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2011, 11:01 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

No I haven't updated my software , just haven't got around t o it hehe,
I tried synergy but I couldn't get it to work, the reason why I tried synergy is because I am debating of going open source again well ok semi open source use Linux and as much free software as possible.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2-port KVM w/ USB JD Peripherals 3 February 5, 2010 08:42 PM
Kvm for tech bench odis172 Peripherals 9 February 3, 2010 07:46 PM
GPU and KVM MarkOne HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 November 22, 2009 12:22 PM
KVM malmal Peripherals 3 October 20, 2008 04:17 PM
Belkin KVM switches bobcat Peripherals 1 February 9, 2008 08:55 AM