Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 07:35 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default Jumpy mouse

I have a Logitech MX1000 mous and lately its been really jumpy. well nothing drastic but trying to make fine movements is nearly impossible. Real PITA when using CAD where I need precise mouse movement. I tried updating the software and cleaning the lens and no difference. Anything else I can do?
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 08:30 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 211
Default

What kind of surface are you using your mouse on? Maybe try switching mouse pads or just use your desk and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 10:56 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by biff View Post
I have a Logitech MX1000 mous and lately its been really jumpy. well nothing drastic but trying to make fine movements is nearly impossible. Real PITA when using CAD where I need precise mouse movement. I tried updating the software and cleaning the lens and no difference. Anything else I can do?
I just replaced the feet on my old mx1000 and it made a world of difference for me, the mouse would "rock" and I would get liftoff issue making it unusable when moving to the left. New feet and she is tracking perfect now. IDK if it will solve your problem but might be something to look at, the condition of the feet mind you.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 11:40 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

Is yours wireless? Have you tried new batteries or moving the receiver closer? If that doesnt work, try reducing the acceleration and speed of the mouse.My vx nano does that when the battery is weak.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2010, 12:20 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,246

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chubaka View Post
Is yours wireless? Have you tried new batteries or moving the receiver closer? If that doesnt work, try reducing the acceleration and speed of the mouse.My vx nano does that when the battery is weak.
MX 1000 is wireless, I have had it mouse go "pause-jerk" when my batterys are low. IDK if it would help or not but thought I would throw it out there just incase.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 08:22 PM
biff's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stock View Post
What kind of surface are you using your mouse on? Maybe try switching mouse pads or just use your desk and see what happens.
Holy Crap!! it was the mouse pad. On the shitty bumpy paper veneered desk it works great. On the mouse pad it goes to hell. Who knew a mouse pad would make such a difference. I wonder why...
__________________
Q6600 @ 3.83GHz w/ D-Tek Fusion
Asus P5Q-PRO
2x 2GB PC8000 Mushkin Redlines @ 1020MHz w/5-5-5-12 timings
EVGA GTX 280 (SC?)
OCZ Gamer Xtreme 600W PSU
Cooler Master Cosmos on water
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 12, 2010, 10:06 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 211
Default

Ahh, well I'm glad you found the problem. I'm guessing in this case, the MX1000 doesn't like the tracking or material your mouse pad offers. I know that optical sensors have trouble tracking on reflective surfaces, but I'm not sure if it applies to laser ones.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 08:19 PM
Herrmoo's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 48
Default

This issue can be magnified by mouse acceleration. You might want to consider disabling it to get a precise 1:1 (x/y) mouse movement.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 2, 2011, 03:01 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 13
Default

There can be some problem with the internal wiring system. Or the surface can also be the cause.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Razer Launches Mobile Gaming Mouse and Mouse Mat FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 2 July 24, 2009 09:11 AM
30GB Navy Blue Zune, Wireless PCI Card, A4Tech X7 Mouse, and Logitech Kb/mouse combo arekieh Buy/Sell & Trade 5 November 2, 2008 03:56 PM
need mouse pad for mouse laser? CTA Peripherals 11 October 5, 2008 11:32 AM
keyboard,mouse,mouse pad,speaker,,what about your chair? cmhyt Peripherals 9 August 24, 2008 10:51 AM
Mouse Pad for Gaming Mouse? Evilyeti Peripherals 16 April 12, 2008 02:43 PM