Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:13 PM
automatic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: White Rock
Posts: 40
Default Front Headphone Jack Broken

I managed to unmount the front head phone jack on my PC somehow, I guess I pulled out my headset plug too hard. Whenever I try to plug in my headset it won't fit the whole way and I can't hear anything on my headphones. I noticed I have an identical pair of pink and green jacks on the back, which seem to be intended for speakers. Is it possible to configure my headphone/mic sound to go through the rear jacks or would that be more work than getting the front one fixed (also, how much would it cost to get this fixed).

Thanks in advanced.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

It should work fine, but the question would be if the jack will automatically detect the headphones the same way as your front jack does, and thus mute the signal going to your speakers. Most onboard sound these days automatically detects when you plug something into a jack and asks you what kind of device it is (or what channel for 5.1, 7.1, etc.....).
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:20 PM
automatic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: White Rock
Posts: 40
Default

I have Realtek HD onboard sound, and a Gigabyte S-series 965P-DS3 mobo
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:21 PM
automatic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: White Rock
Posts: 40
Default

It doesn't seem to detect my headest when I plug it into the rear jacks
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:31 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,231

My System Specs

Default

You may need to go into the audio control panel then and tell it what the plug is.

edit: Depending on what is wrong with the front panel, you may also have to unplug them from the motherboard.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 07:32 PM
automatic's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: White Rock
Posts: 40
Default

Got it working. Yeah that's what I needed to do Wilson, thanks.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Front panel headphone amp? Varroa Audio 0 December 14, 2009 05:30 AM
Azune Forte 7.1 Jack Problems InternetOwl Audio 4 July 19, 2009 12:32 PM
S/PDIF jack? biff HTPC Systems & Software 10 March 18, 2009 09:34 PM
Aurora 3d case front panel headphone plugin and XonarDx sound card problem Shadowmeph Audio 4 December 1, 2008 06:49 PM
5th gen ipod headphone jack... nikitos Audio 6 April 9, 2008 07:15 AM