Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 10:37 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default Firewire 400 -> Firewire 800: Comments?

So Apple has hosed FW400 ports on my new Mac Tower and given me more FW800 Ports than I know what to do with. So I was using a FW cable like this



But the large FW400 6 pin head won't fit in this new machine. I have been looking at this adapter

Moshi 800 to 400 FireWire Adapter - Apple Store (U.S.)

Anyone have any experience with this, particularly on a Mac? I have read that hardware can sometimes be particular about FW cables which is why this "official" Apple adapter seems like a good way to go. Just looking for some feedback in case anyone has some good/bad experience in this area.

Thanks.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 10:40 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,599

My System Specs

Default

I'm surprised at how inexpensive that adapter is. I've typically seen most of their adapters run from 30$+. You could potentially find something for less but a 'guaranteed' solution for 15$ doesnt sound that bad to me.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 14, 2010, 12:34 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Actually I have found the adapter at for even less here.
Moshi FIREWIRE 800 TO 400 ADAPTER

But ya it's not much to ask thankfully. Oof course I didn't realize the lack of FW400 till I actually needed one. I shoudl have guessed though since this was such an issue on the MB refresh. :P

I think I'll just go for it. Thanks.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2010, 12:52 AM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
Actually I have found the adapter at for even less here.
Moshi FIREWIRE 800 TO 400 ADAPTER

But ya it's not much to ask thankfully. Oof course I didn't realize the lack of FW400 till I actually needed one. I shoudl have guessed though since this was such an issue on the MB refresh. :P

I think I'll just go for it. Thanks.
I have that 'official' FW 800 to 400 adpater, and it works fine for me with everything (HDD's, and camcorder). No speed loss that I can see
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2010, 05:27 AM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
So Apple has hosed FW400 ports on my new Mac Tower and given me more FW800 Ports than I know what to do with. So I was using a FW cable like this



But the large FW400 6 pin head won't fit in this new machine. I have been looking at this adapter

Moshi 800 to 400 FireWire Adapter - Apple Store (U.S.)

Anyone have any experience with this, particularly on a Mac? I have read that hardware can sometimes be particular about FW cables which is why this "official" Apple adapter seems like a good way to go. Just looking for some feedback in case anyone has some good/bad experience in this area.

Thanks.
why not get a firewire 800 cable??
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 18, 2010, 05:43 PM
SneakySnake's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Waterloo
Posts: 296

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallcschm View Post
why not get a firewire 800 cable??
The device he's wanting to connect probably isn't FW 800
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 19, 2010, 12:44 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SneakySnake View Post
I have that 'official' FW 800 to 400 adpater, and it works fine for me with everything (HDD's, and camcorder). No speed loss that I can see
Thanks for confirming. I got sidetracked and haven't ordered it yet but I really need to do that this week!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallcschm View Post
why not get a firewire 800 cable??
Well for $12 I am ok with an adapter and it seems to be a reliable solution. I have no idea if my HD camcorder is compatible with a FW800 cable. Can you get one with a small head for the camcorder?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Firewire Express Question Lyxtwing Mobile Computing 2 January 13, 2010 04:36 PM
Lowest Latency Firewire? Lyxtwing Audio 0 February 6, 2008 07:58 PM
external case powered by firewire? lowfat Storage 6 July 28, 2007 07:41 AM