Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 01:50 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default IBM Model M Appreciation

I'm sure the Model M isn't the best gaming keyboard ever but they are so cheap locally and are great for typing. Anyone else use a Model M? I love mine.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 02:15 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

I don't have a model m, but I do use a Steelseries 7G. Which is a uses Cherry MX black switches. I actually am trying to buy a good condition Model from a guy on RFD currently. I hopefully got to him before others.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 10:13 PM
Lpfan4ever's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,778

My System Specs

Default

Hmmm, I had the old keyboard with a 1989 IBM terminal that connected through what seemed to be an RJ-11 or RJ-45 connector. When that was my only option, I wasn't a huge fan of it. Now that I've got a massively POS tiny Dell keyboard, I miss the old thing. Mechanical keyboards are not my thing, but that one sure as hell was great for my giant fingers.
I think it was a predecessor to the Model M as it was pre-Windows or at least, before Windows got popular. (I don't know when that stated to kick in) No scroll lock or num lock, just caps lock. Also, having F1 to F24 made it a massive beast.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp
I don't know, maybe if you get a big enough compacticator you can put it in your butt and name yourself "sexbuttplug"...
Code:
<martin_metal_88> I think I am gonna sell my server
...
<firebane> i will offer pereniums mom
<firebane> slightly used
<Keltron> slightly is an understatement
<LPfan4ever> Who're you kidding...slightly?
<martin_metal_88> peri's mom, slightly used? lol...

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2010, 11:37 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,132

My System Specs

Default PS2

Got a Ps2 Keyboard plugged in. When windows freeezes it somtimes saves the overclock ( e-leet ).

__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2010, 12:22 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 133

My System Specs

Default

Can PS2 keyboards send hotkeys directly to the BIOS or something? How does USB vs PS2 affect what you can do when windows freezes.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 12:14 AM
M1K3Z0R's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London/Brantford ON
Posts: 48

My System Specs

Default

those mechanical key switches are nice but often soooo loud >.<
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 01:10 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,583
Default

clackclackclack clackclack clackclackclackclack clack clackclack clackclack clack clackclack clackclackclack clack.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 03:45 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,132

My System Specs

Default Has to do with USB

If you get voltages and timings to tight on USB and PCI-e and STATA act up. Using PS2 and IDE in some cases are less effected by voltage and timining and playing. Somitimes all USB will freeze PS2 still works
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 7, 2010, 04:39 PM
M1K3Z0R's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: London/Brantford ON
Posts: 48

My System Specs

Default

lol yep, PS/2 may seem oldskool, but when something goes fubar with your usb drivers/controllers, GG

I recall having to deal with corrupted usb system files on a dell BTX machine (no legacy ports!) and it was ridiculous, no input to windows whatsoever. Thankfully a Ubuntu liverun cd was at hand and I managed to manually replace the files and get it rolling again, but to the average computer illiterate user it would have been game over (saved him from a trip to futureshop )
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 02:13 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

Just got my Model M. And to be honest I don't think I like it all that much compared to the Steelseries 7G I was using before. The 7G uses very light Cherry MX 'black' switches. And now this Model M seems extremely heavy to use. I'll give it a few weeks before I make my decision though.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
clicky , ibm model m , keyboard , model m

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I could be a model mailaw Off Topic 15 April 28, 2009 12:08 AM
IBM's watercooling solution magictorch Water Cooling 0 June 6, 2008 07:06 AM
Amd + Ibm ?? Babrbarossa Rumor Mill 8 January 25, 2008 07:46 AM