Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 09:45 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default PS3 Owners: How To Use Your Harmony Remote?

No idea which sub forum this belongs in so I picked this one. Anyways...

I am getting a PS3 this weekend and I want to use my Harmony remote to watch movies... but as you probably know the PS3 uses Bluetooth and the Harmony is IR. Do any of you have a good solution?

Is there a cheap and easy Bluetooth-IR adaptor I can get? The Logitech one is a whopping $60+ depending where you go. I think I'd rather just buy the PS3 remote for $30 than support that scam.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 10:15 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 1,122

My System Specs

Default

heres some info Logitech to give PS3 Harmony Remote support | Crave - CNET
edit: guess i should read your entire post
__________________
http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=932179

"Be so good at what you do that you cant be ignored"

Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 10:21 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

I don't know, but if you do find something please post back. I'm in the same boat.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 11:04 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Well a little more googling brought up some options. Some more expensive, some less. basically if you want to be able to power the PS3 on/off with your remote it will cost you big bucks. If you just want to control basic playback functions you can get away with a $15 solution. I think I am going to go the $15 route, here's what I found (not including the Logitech adaptor).

Amazon.com: PS3 Blu Wave Remote: Playstation 3: Video Games
~$15 - Playback controls, no power on/off
Ditch the remote and just use the adaptor, you may need to use the remote to train your harmony, haven't dug that deep yet?

ps3toothfairy :: PlayStation 3 IR Remote Control Adapter
$50 - Full control with power on/off

The Ultimate PS3 IR Upgrade Store
$20 - $80 - Three different adaptors with different levels of style and control

Here's a thread with a lot more info on this topic.
IR to BT Converters (yes there are 4 of them): Comparisons/User Reviews - AVS Forum
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 4, 2009, 12:46 PM
gimark's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

I'm in the same boat. Harmony One control is awesome just wishing it would work with the PS3.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 01:48 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

spend the money on the adapter.... worth it in the long run...and its small and sleck looking
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 01:59 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Ya I actually never bothered with the any of these as I received the PS3 BD remote as a gift for Xmas so I just use that one for movies. It means going from one to two remotes lying around but overall it's manageable considering I used to have like 4 or 5 remotes before I got my Harmony, lol.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 02:02 PM
Digikid's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,731
Default

You bought a Harmony Remote....a remote that is about $285.....and you are hesitating on getting a $60 adapter??????

LOL!!!! Just fooling.

Which model did you get?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 02:13 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan
Posts: 121

My System Specs

Default

i am using the basic 510 80 bucks on sale.........runs my AVR/PS3/TV/PVR and of course the remote control lights .....one button and the tv comes on , the avr comes on, the ps3 comes on, all settings are done and then the lights dim to enjoy. 8)
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2010, 02:19 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,072

My System Specs

Default

Rescue119, which adapter did you get?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any lumina owners cmac79 Off Topic 8 July 23, 2009 01:05 PM
HTPC + Harmony one martin_metal_88 HTPC Systems & Software 6 June 27, 2009 04:23 PM
Any Archos 5 Owners? TwystedMonkey Audio 4 January 26, 2009 10:34 PM
BD remote trouble on my PS3 ebdoradz Gaming 0 January 6, 2008 06:46 PM