Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2007, 04:01 PM
Patriote's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,167
Default

Awesomeness! Well, i'll go out in a shop such as Bestbuy or Future shop to see what they have there and at what price. I'll aim at either Canon or Nikon.

Thanks again guys!
__________________
- Asus P8Z68-V PRO
- Intel I5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz (for now)
- Asus Geforce 580GTX DirectCUII Fermi
- 16GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile
- Ultra X3 1000 Watt
- Asus Xonar DX 7.1 \ Klipsch Promedia 2.1 THX
- Corsair Vengeance 1300 Gaming Headset
- Crucial M4 SSD 128GB \ WD Caviar Black 1TB
- CoolerMaster 690II Advanced
- Dell UltraSharp 24''
- Noctua NH-D14
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2007, 06:43 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Sudbury, Ontario
Posts: 24
Default

I have to agree with the majority here. I had a Canon powershot A75 before. A photo-pro buddy was amazed at the quality of the camera. He didn't think it was possible in a P+S.

Now I've got a Rebel XTi with 70-300 IS USM EFS, 28-105 IS USM EFS, and the speedlite 430ex. I got an excellent combo deal from a store in Ottawa. I don't do a lot of printing but I do stream from my xbox 360 to my 62" HDTV and with this camera the pics on the screen look amazing. Also I like having full control of my camera when I want it. Fully auto tends to tick me off. Restricts my creative side.

Definitely look at Canon or Nikon first, they are the top dogs in the digital photo world.
__________________
CoolerMaster CM Stacker 832
Enermax Galaxy Dxx 850W
Intel e6700 lapped/D-tek Fuzion
EVGA 680i A1/Swiftech MCW30 NB cooler
4Gb OCZ Flex XLC DDR2 PC2-6400
EVGA 8800 ACS3 KO GTX with EK waterblock
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude
2x500Gb Seagate Barracuda SATA2
Dual loop with Thermochill Pa120.2 and 120.3

Last edited by Nightwings; June 16, 2007 at 06:46 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2007, 10:49 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

Charlie, maybe you can answer a question for me. I heard somewhere there is a nikon digital SLR out there (probably an older model) that is compatible with my current nikon FG lenses. I've looked around some forums but can't find the thread. I have manual focus F mount AIS lenses with TTL metering. I understand that the metering might not work with digital and I never liked autofocus anyway. It would sure be a nice way to get into the digital world. Any links, comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks:help:
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2007, 11:09 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Unklmo View Post
don't know much about this model in particular. since i bought mine last year i've stopped researching them.
i went with the Olympus SP-500 UZ 6.0. pretty much the same form factor as the one your looking at. good and solid camera. form and size was a deciding factor for me , among the myriad of tech specs. i found all the other dc's felt too small or fragile in my hands. i wanted something i could wrap my hands around and not have to hold it by my fingure tips.
Patioe, you're in Mtl, just head over to any DuMoulin Electro. if the don't have that particular model, you'll at least be able to handle one and try it out in the store without that pesky security cable attached to it.
and yes you can get a larger mem card. min's 1Gb. i would just recommend that you make sure it's not "proprietary" like Sony sticks.

6 Megapixel Digital Camera : 10x Optical Zoom Digital Camera : Ultra Zoom Digital Camera
Umm, both Fuji and Olympus use the proprietary xD memory which is far less supported and far less available than Memory Stick Pro Duo ...
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2007, 05:53 AM
Unklmo's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mtl, Qc
Posts: 160
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmac View Post
Umm, both Fuji and Olympus use the proprietary xD memory which is far less supported and far less available than Memory Stick Pro Duo ...
HOLY CRAP!!!! i never even realized that
when i got my digi, i bought it as a bundled package with a 1Gb xD. i just assumed because it was an Olynpus, they that they would of course include an "Olympus" stamped mem card. didn't realize it could be proprietary.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2007, 07:04 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by mo' power View Post
Charlie, maybe you can answer a question for me. I heard somewhere there is a nikon digital SLR out there (probably an older model) that is compatible with my current nikon FG lenses. I've looked around some forums but can't find the thread. I have manual focus F mount AIS lenses with TTL metering. I understand that the metering might not work with digital and I never liked autofocus anyway. It would sure be a nice way to get into the digital world. Any links, comments or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks:help:
Hi,

I don't know about FG lenses, but I do know about FG bodies. F mount is used since 1959. Your lenses will fit any Digital Nikon body, but with some incompatibilities. This chart tells all.

Nikon SLR Camera & Lens Compatibility Chart

Your best choice is probably the D200, where your lenses will only in A (Aperture Priority) or M (Manual) modes. P (Program) or S (Shutter priority) exposure modes will not function.

Here's the link to the forum: Discussion Forums @ Nikonians

If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to fire away!

John
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2007, 10:18 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Scarborough
Posts: 1,437

My System Specs

Default

I should have been more specific, Charlie. I am using a Nikon FG and all my lenses are AIS F- mount. This is exactly the information I was looking for. Thanks! You rock!
__________________


EBAY(http://myworld.ebay.ca/scott0639)
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old June 18, 2007, 03:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,679

My System Specs

Default

No problem; that forum is not very usewr-friendly, when searching for a particular information. But it's a very good resource.

John
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 05:36 PM
Il Duce's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: T.O
Posts: 512
Default

just get a Canon A series. Affordable and decent noise reduction.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2007, 09:29 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

2 month old thread, dude ... I'm sure he's already made his purchase by now ...

But I agree that the Canon A-series is a good choice ...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Advice for new system for digital artist. Milt CPU's and Motherboards 25 December 26, 2007 02:56 PM
Digital Photo Veiwer Supergrover Display Units 4 November 12, 2007 02:59 PM
TV Tuner to rec digital feed Wiked HTPC Systems & Software 4 October 14, 2007 01:40 PM
10 things to consider about digital cameras Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 2 June 18, 2007 01:12 PM
hand held infrared digital thermometers y eye Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 January 5, 2007 07:07 AM