Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:04 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default G15 keyboard

Hey all,
I am thinking of getting a Logitec G15 keyboard,
but I dont know if it's really neccessary.
Any comments about it, or special functions about it
that I might wanna know.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:11 PM
Andy's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taichung / Toronto
Posts: 657

My System Specs

Default

Well, it isn't necessary. It would be very easy to get by without the screen and the extra keys, whether you are a gamer or not. However on the flip side, the G15 is a very nice keyboard. I have a 2nd gen, and I love it. The screen can display a lot of functions, but I don't really find myself using it all that much. I leave the TF2 Stats plugin on all the time now. It is a really nice keyboard to type on, and it looks really good as well. If it fits your budget, and you like the look, go for it, you won't be disappointed.
__________________
SAGER 5165 - Matte Screen (1920x1080) - i7-2630QM - nVidia 555M - 8Gb DDR3 - 120Gb Corsair Force GT SSD - 500Gb Momentus XT - Intel® 6300
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:21 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,735
Default

It is a fantastic keyboard, but just too big for me. For a smaller slimmer keyboard, the logitech Illuminated slim keyboard is a good choice. I got one and Love it.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 06:28 AM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I have one, but I got it more for gaming and lighted keys for playing in dim light. For that its great!
For work and typing its not that great with my 4 finger looking at the keys style.
The problem is the key labels don't show very well in a bright room, backlight on or not.
each to their own with keyboards thou.....
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 09:34 AM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Had one for a a couple years now. Great keyboard. LCD is handy, displays songs if you are playing music. I have everest pro displaying all my temps and voltages and rpm's etc.. Fraps to display framerate off the screen. Whatever you want to display on it there is an app out there somewhere. Most games support it, show things like ammo/health/loot.

The macro keys are really handy and probably underused my most owners. 18x3 programmable keys. I have things like my name and address programmed to a key, sorta like an instant mailing label. Email address, commonly used passwords that I don't care if someone gets.(internet sites like this). macro to open control panel and device manager. You can program sword combos and the like for games. You can save profiles to specific apps so the macros load when you launch that game etc...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 9, 2009, 11:51 AM
vinister's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 297
Default

Love it. Its a must-buy for any gamer as far as I'm concerned.
__________________
Mobo: DFI 790X-M2R
Proc: AMD PHENOM X3 720
Ram: OCZ Platinum 2X 2GB @ 1066
VIDEO: 3 x Visiontek HD3870
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 01:56 PM
shayan288's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Posts: 911
Default

I just picked one up and I was looking forward to having my team fortress 2 stats on the lcd screen to find out that it would only pick up that I have two games only which were battlefield 2, and swat 4. Any suggestions? otherwise the keyboard is awesome!
__________________
The 288

Q9550 E0 stepping @ 4Ghz
Gigabyte EP45 UD3P
G.Skill pc2 8500 1066mhz RAM
Corsair TX750 Watt Power Supply
Western Digital 500gb and Seagate 500gb in RAID 0
Western Digital 250gb
Antec 1200
OCZ Vendetta 2 LGA 775 CPU cooler with bolt thru kit
XFX HD5970
Steelseries 7G Mechanical Keyboard
Samsung 305T 30 Inch 2560x1600 LCD monitor
Altec Lansing 5.1 Surround Speakers, Sennheiser HD215's, G35's
Steelseries Xai Laser Mouse
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 02:04 PM
Andy's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Taichung / Toronto
Posts: 657

My System Specs

Default

TF2 Stats Plugin for G15

smashd.de - TF2stats G15 plugin
__________________
SAGER 5165 - Matte Screen (1920x1080) - i7-2630QM - nVidia 555M - 8Gb DDR3 - 120Gb Corsair Force GT SSD - 500Gb Momentus XT - Intel® 6300
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 03:11 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

I find the most useful thing the screen is for is displaying who is talking on voice chat haha. Mine shows vent info etc so I can see who is joining channels and who is talking.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 15, 2009, 04:02 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Halifax, N.S.
Posts: 498
Default

It is an awsome board.

Just for info the G19 http://www.logitech.com/index.cfm/ke.../4956&cl=us,en is now out. Now this board looks supreme, however, not to keen on a keyboard the requires its own power supply.
__________________
RIG #1 - Intel E8400 // TRU-X 120 w noctua NF-P12 // GA-X38-DQ6 // GTX285 OC // 8g Ram OCZ Fatal1ty PC8500 // X-Fi Elite Pro sound // z-5500 speakers // OCZ 850w Gamer XTream PSU // WD Raptor 150g // Seagate 1Tb // 2xSeagate 500g ex// Logitec G-15 keyboard // Vista Ultimate 64bit
RIG #2 - AMD64 3500+ // Asus A8N-E // 8800GTS 512 OC // Enermax Liberty SLI 500W Modular PSU // WD Caviar 250g

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Gaming keyboard slntdth93 Peripherals 0 December 23, 2008 08:40 PM
Need to buy a keyboard NuxTux Buy/Sell & Trade 9 March 7, 2008 06:27 AM
Need New Keyboard... crazyazn Peripherals 19 March 2, 2008 09:21 PM
DIY rollup keyboard Babrbarossa Peripherals 4 January 28, 2008 01:38 PM
Keyboard modding chibi_man Peripherals 2 November 8, 2007 05:25 PM