Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > Peripherals

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 02:35 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default Buyers beware... Nostromo N52te(the new blue one...)

This thing is CRAP!!!!!!

It's nothing like my old n52(RIP) was. they changed the macro interface, it's not even working properly anymore, there is firmware issues, the macros work... sometimes, they tend to hang up and stop working whenever they feel like it...

The only positive thing about it is that the new buttons are definitly nice. That's it. I cant care less about the blue leds if the rest does'nt work properly.

That being said, it's going back in it's box and going back to the source for refund tomorrow.

I'll be shopping for an older n52 in stock somewhere and if I find a stash i'll buy them all.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 02:49 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

I've had one for 4 months now, no problems at all. Hundreds of hours and a dozen different games.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 02:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,792

My System Specs

Default

A bit OT, but I never thought of using a key‚d for FPS. is it better?
__________________

Back up - Ebay (Inik1) or Heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 04:35 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Best gaming input device ever. So comfy and quick.



My setup. Standard WASD with tab caps shift ctrl on left. Space bar below thumb. Thumb D-Pad is programmed for numbers 1-8, instant weapon select. Button above the d-pad swaps to the second entire set of commands for each key. I have ESC, tilde and F1-F12 on those. The scroll wheel between the d-pad and keys I have set as pg up pg dn so it acts like a second mouse wheel for change spell/grenade type etc.

Playing FPS, RPG or even RTS like WIC I never have to touch the keyboard or move my hand. the TE has on board memory too so all your commands are saved, you can plug it into any other comp or boot to another OS and your config is there.

I've used the claw, all manner of so-called gamer keyboards and this thing kicks their asses hands down.

Edit: 2 faults. The thumb space bar should be right under the d-pad instead of in towards your palm and the blue/red/green leds under that are way too bright.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 04:41 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

Skyllz, maybe you got a bum one? Try an exchange first. I've played it so much it's like an extension of my hand and zero issues with it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 07:11 PM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

I've been playing for 3 years with an original N52. I cant play FPS or MMORPGs without one... It's second nature now.

I run many macros directly from the device for World of Warcraft among other games I play and in 2 hours of setting up/gaming this has been only frustration after problem after glitches.

Are you running straight keys or you are unning macros also? Straight keys ran fine but the macros are really hit and miss, they will jam and stop in the middle, the "repeat when pressed" will crap out after 3-4 seconds, things like that that I never had issues with the original N52...

I found that those issues are known on the n52te forums and I wish I knew about those before buying.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 07:54 PM
Sniper's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Halifax NS
Posts: 700
Default

I sold my old N-52 awhile ago for $50 & buddy was more than happy to have his broken one replaced at any cost practically. I used to use mine for UT but once I got into BF2 & got a Zboard I didn't use the Nostromo anymore. The new blue looks cool though but appearances can be deceiving eh? heh
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 08:12 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

No macros at all here. Just that setup I outlined for all my games.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 9, 2008, 09:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 96

My System Specs

Default

Well if anyone wants my N52, shoot me a PM. I felt that certain keys were "sticky" and it PO'd me enough that it now lives in a box.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2008, 07:28 AM
Skyllz's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 777

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squeetard View Post
No macros at all here. Just that setup I outlined for all my games.
That explains it...

I may try to change my macro programming to try it differently.

I really like the new ergos on the remote/buttons but hate the software :( I wish there would have been a way to use the old one.
__________________
Is smoke supposed to come out of there?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes