Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 04:32 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colwood, BC
Posts: 41
Exclamation Stability problem on my e6600

My computer appears to be hanging (Just seems like it locks up, display still there but can't do anything)

I had my e6600 overclocked to 3319 mhz a 1475 QDR, I had it at 1.475 vCore i think and a 1.45 NB, and I could run OCCT for 20 minutes (Was just doing quick tests, nothing conclusive) but I was doing that on an OC profile I made that is stripped from all start up programs pretty much so, I rebooted and went into my profile and during start up while everything was loading it locked up. Any Ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 04:43 PM
Dadi_oh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooses View Post
My computer appears to be hanging (Just seems like it locks up, display still there but can't do anything)

I had my e6600 overclocked to 3319 mhz a 1475 QDR, I had it at 1.475 vCore i think and a 1.45 NB, and I could run OCCT for 20 minutes (Was just doing quick tests, nothing conclusive) but I was doing that on an OC profile I made that is stripped from all start up programs pretty much so, I rebooted and went into my profile and during start up while everything was loading it locked up. Any Ideas?
So just to be clear are you saying that you have been running stable for a long time and then, without changing anything, it has become unstable?

Or are you saying that as part of your recent overclocking process you only checked stability in a stripped down session but when loading all drivers and programs it locks up?

If it were the first case (a sudden change in stability) then it could be a degrading component.

If it were the second case then there may be a particular driver or program that is reacting badly to the OC.

Either way, try backing off on the overclock to factory defaults and then gradually increase the frequencies until you can recreate the lockup. Only OC one thing at a time... for example keep memory frequency at stock or less while increasing the CPU FSB.
__________________
Rig1: Q9550 @3.8GHz Vendetta 2, P5Q-PRO, 6GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500. 5870 1GB, GT240 Physx, Ultra LSP 750W, 2TB internal + 2TB external, 3X23" 5760X1080 eyefinity + GT240 Physx, HAF22 case 3X200mm : Win7 Pro
Rig2: E8200 @3.6GHz Vendetta HSF, DFI P45 LP-JR, 4GB 900MHz, 4870 512MB, X203W 20", Ultra Gladiator Case
Rig3: Q6600@ 3.5GHz H50, P5Q-PRO, 8GB, 8800GTS512, OCZ GameXStream 850W, Samsung 245BW 24" + 19" dual: Snow Leopard + Parallels Win7
Rig4: MAC mini Snow Leopard
Laptop: Macbook Pro 15"
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colwood, BC
Posts: 41
Default

Recent overclock.

And, if I find at which OC the problem happens? Do you have a solution THEN? or is this just a way to get a stable OC by cutting it down some, even though it is an program problem and not my hardware having issues?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:42 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooses View Post
Recent overclock.

And, if I find at which OC the problem happens? Do you have a solution THEN? or is this just a way to get a stable OC by cutting it down some, even though it is an program problem and not my hardware having issues?
If a program behaves badly under OC, but works fine at stock speeds then there is a problem with the OC.

It could be that there's some higher memory functions going on during startup and a slight boost to mem voltages might fix the issue. Same goes for NB voltage.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 05:58 PM
Dadi_oh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
If a program behaves badly under OC, but works fine at stock speeds then there is a problem with the OC.

It could be that there's some higher memory functions going on during startup and a slight boost to mem voltages might fix the issue. Same goes for NB voltage.
What he said

It sounds to me that the issues are related to the HW. SW will run the same at OC frequencies as at default frequencies (albeit faster).

You just need to make the appropriate adjustments in frequencies and voltages to get to a stabel overclock. Takes patience and lot's of testing but that's the fun part
__________________
Rig1: Q9550 @3.8GHz Vendetta 2, P5Q-PRO, 6GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500. 5870 1GB, GT240 Physx, Ultra LSP 750W, 2TB internal + 2TB external, 3X23" 5760X1080 eyefinity + GT240 Physx, HAF22 case 3X200mm : Win7 Pro
Rig2: E8200 @3.6GHz Vendetta HSF, DFI P45 LP-JR, 4GB 900MHz, 4870 512MB, X203W 20", Ultra Gladiator Case
Rig3: Q6600@ 3.5GHz H50, P5Q-PRO, 8GB, 8800GTS512, OCZ GameXStream 850W, Samsung 245BW 24" + 19" dual: Snow Leopard + Parallels Win7
Rig4: MAC mini Snow Leopard
Laptop: Macbook Pro 15"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 10:53 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colwood, BC
Posts: 41
Default

Thanks guys, I boosted my NB another .05 and my mem .1 and I booted with no problems, have been running OCCT for an hour, also played Spore for a bit, no problems yet, OCCT is running a 6 hour test, so hopefully I got it running stable at 3.26 ghz, load temp of 53.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2008, 09:47 AM
Dadi_oh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooses View Post
Thanks guys, I boosted my NB another .05 and my mem .1 and I booted with no problems, have been running OCCT for an hour, also played Spore for a bit, no problems yet, OCCT is running a 6 hour test, so hopefully I got it running stable at 3.26 ghz, load temp of 53.
That's the ticket...

Finding the right mix of frequencies, voltages, and temps is what it's all about. And a good load temp you have so you might even get more out of it.
__________________
Rig1: Q9550 @3.8GHz Vendetta 2, P5Q-PRO, 6GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500. 5870 1GB, GT240 Physx, Ultra LSP 750W, 2TB internal + 2TB external, 3X23" 5760X1080 eyefinity + GT240 Physx, HAF22 case 3X200mm : Win7 Pro
Rig2: E8200 @3.6GHz Vendetta HSF, DFI P45 LP-JR, 4GB 900MHz, 4870 512MB, X203W 20", Ultra Gladiator Case
Rig3: Q6600@ 3.5GHz H50, P5Q-PRO, 8GB, 8800GTS512, OCZ GameXStream 850W, Samsung 245BW 24" + 19" dual: Snow Leopard + Parallels Win7
Rig4: MAC mini Snow Leopard
Laptop: Macbook Pro 15"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 8, 2008, 10:41 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooses View Post
Thanks guys, I boosted my NB another .05 and my mem .1 and I booted with no problems, have been running OCCT for an hour, also played Spore for a bit, no problems yet, OCCT is running a 6 hour test, so hopefully I got it running stable at 3.26 ghz, load temp of 53.
Good to hear!!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old September 9, 2008, 07:17 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colwood, BC
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dadi_oh View Post
That's the ticket...

Finding the right mix of frequencies, voltages, and temps is what it's all about. And a good load temp you have so you might even get more out of it.
Yeah, well I am planning on WC soon so I can push it farther without worrying about the temps, hopefully 3.6 to 4.0 not sure what you can force an E6600 when you try hard enough lol
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old September 10, 2008, 12:07 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gooses View Post
Yeah, well I am planning on WC soon so I can push it farther without worrying about the temps, hopefully 3.6 to 4.0 not sure what you can force an E6600 when you try hard enough lol
More realistically...3.4-3.6..even with water. It takes exceptional chips to hit 3.8-4.0 stable. GL
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes