Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 11:48 AM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

I agree there is not quick full test, but if I can get through 30 min before I get to 400 FSB then I figure I am pretty good. My other settings are keeping the PCIe at 100 and I am trying to keep my memory close to its 1066 rated speed. Once I hit 400 FSB I will run a battery of stress and benches and if they all pass I will be a happy camper.

enaberif - after I downloaded and ran Orthos I notices the same settings and figured it was the same. Like you say, it is a very nice interface though :)

I plan on running the Furmark to stress the video card at my new speed, I think that was a good one. OCCT for 2 hours as was suggested and then if they are both stable I will turn on my folding again and watch what happens. But I will try and find things to stress my system at its new speed.
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 12:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

The only issue with Orthos is that it will only do 2 cores (the version I've got anywise...) while the latest versions of Prime95 will do 4 automatically.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 01:47 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,625

My System Specs

Default

I use OCCT and Linpack now. OCCT for about 2 hours, then I run 50 Linpack tests. If I can get over 10 passes with Linpack, then I consider myself stable.

@3.0. Why don't you like Linpack? It stresses the system way harder than OCCT. Using OCCT, my temps reached around 53C while Linpack took it to 63C. You may think it's a waste of time, but we all have a different opinion on it I guess.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 01:56 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
I use OCCT and Linpack now. OCCT for about 2 hours, then I run 50 Linpack tests. If I can get over 10 passes with Linpack, then I consider myself stable.

@3.0. Why don't you like Linpack? It stresses the system way harder than OCCT. Using OCCT, my temps reached around 53C while Linpack took it to 63C. You may think it's a waste of time, but we all have a different opinion on it I guess.
Linpack is new, untested, unknown and who knows what else.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 03:46 PM
Dadi_oh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
The only issue with Orthos is that it will only do 2 cores (the version I've got anywise...) while the latest versions of Prime95 will do 4 automatically.
Oh. Good point. I don't have a quad (yet) so I hadn't thought of that. I picked up a quad on a forum and waiting for it to arrive so I guess I will be using Prime95 if Orthos can't do 4 cores.
__________________
Rig1: Q9550 @3.8GHz Vendetta 2, P5Q-PRO, 6GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500. 5870 1GB, GT240 Physx, Ultra LSP 750W, 2TB internal + 2TB external, 3X23" 5760X1080 eyefinity + GT240 Physx, HAF22 case 3X200mm : Win7 Pro
Rig2: E8200 @3.6GHz Vendetta HSF, DFI P45 LP-JR, 4GB 900MHz, 4870 512MB, X203W 20", Ultra Gladiator Case
Rig3: Q6600@ 3.5GHz H50, P5Q-PRO, 8GB, 8800GTS512, OCZ GameXStream 850W, Samsung 245BW 24" + 19" dual: Snow Leopard + Parallels Win7
Rig4: MAC mini Snow Leopard
Laptop: Macbook Pro 15"
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:17 PM
Dwayne's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Courtenay, BC
Posts: 619

My System Specs

Default

Do you think folding both CPU and GPU client running will put some stress on the system for a good test? I have them both running and the CPU usage is 85% - 100% on both cores.

I plan on letting it run all night, but I would run Prime95 to prove the system instead. Just not sure if folding will be enough stress.

Thanks in advance!
__________________
Dwayne's Rig - Asus P8Z77 : i7 3770k : Corsair Vengeance 8 GB DDR3-1600 : Corsair HX850W PSU : Corsair H100 : Corsair Obsidian 650D : eVGA GeForce GTX 680 Classy :
HTPC - GigaByte H67MA-UD2H : i3 2100 : 8 GB Mushkin Silverline Stiletto : Antec TruPower 550W : Sapphire HD 6670 : Nmedia HTPC 1000B : Kingston 60 GB SSD Boot
Netbook - Asus eee
Tablet - Asus eee Transformer
Wife's Rig - Lenovo Laptop
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:22 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dwayne View Post
Do you think folding both CPU and GPU client running will put some stress on the system for a good test? I have them both running and the CPU usage is 85% - 100% on both cores.

I plan on letting it run all night, but I would run Prime95 to prove the system instead. Just not sure if folding will be enough stress.

Thanks in advance!
Folding is different than how p95 works.

So yes you could have a orthos/p95 system stable but when you try to fold it does different calculations and computations and could find a flaw that nothing else could.
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:47 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,535

My System Specs

Default

Orthos has a selection to "Stress CPU with Gromics core" which AFAIK is the same as folding.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:51 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,605
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Orthos has a selection to "Stress CPU with Gromics core" which AFAIK is the same as folding.
My machine was SmallFFT stable and as soon as I went to try folding it would fail.

Can't say why.. but it did.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:51 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,644

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
I'm curious as to why you feel this way about this software...
1. Why would I need another stress testing software when all my rigs are stable with Prime, OCCT and folding?
2. No automatic error reporting.
3. Do you really need such a software, putting so much load on the CPU - something that no other software (even games) cane reproduce? Is it really worth it?
4. I don't like the fact that the core load varies that much. I'm a mechanic by trade, and revving your engine is the best way to damage the internals. Stupid analogy maybe, but it's something I can relate to.
5. How can a test be stable with so little ram, and the same setup unstable with 4 Gb?
6. 64-bit OS allows for a more accurate test? What about the users still working with 32-bit OSes?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes