Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2008, 12:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default Q6600 OC with Water stability issues

Morning all, I am fairly new to the OC process, but I have been reading tons and tons and I think I am at a point where I am just not sure where to go next. I can not get OCCT or Prime to run longer than 5 seconds give or take. I can run 3d Vantage and Mark with out issues and it has been stable all day like this.

My set up is:
Ram- 4GB (2X2GB) Patriot EPP 6400LL Series 800MHZ O/C to 926 on 5-5-5-15 2T @ 2.20V
CPU- Q6600 2400 O/C to 3340 idle 34 degress according to core temp (Stepping B3 Rev G0) Can't run a load to see what the loaded temps are
Mobo- Asrock 4CoreTwins P35 Bios 1.40
Water Cooled with Swiftech 220 Kit

Bios settings-
RAM- 5-5-5-15 @ 2.20V CPUID shows the 926Mhz with 4:5 FSB:DRAM
CPU- 371 CPU Freq 1.50 CPUV CPUID shows 3340 -371 Bus 1484FSB @ 1.488V
NB/SB/VTT all set to Auto.

I have played with voltages for a while now.
I had to losen my RAM from 4-4-4-12. (Ran MemTest for 2 hours straight with out errors) To get it to boot properly.

but no matter what it wont run a stable test past 2900. I can boot fine, and I can use the PC fine, just not sure why none of the tests support the over clock. I can drop core volts to 1.48 and I get the same results.. any ideas? I would like to think I should be able to run at 3.3 or even higher given my temps. :help:

Any advice / replies are appreciated.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 5, 2008, 12:55 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Test results from OCCT shows
Core One temp goes from 37 down to 33 in a minute the load shown while tested started at 46% and went backwards???
Core Two temp went from 35 to 33
Core Three temp stayed at 25
Core Four temp stayed at 25
Vcore went from 1.46 to 1.49
3.3V shows 3.24 steady
5.0V shows 5.04 steady
12V shows 12.7X steady

I am not sure what I am missing here.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 04:01 PM
Dadi_oh's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Almonte, Ontario
Posts: 180
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazdag6 View Post
Morning all, I am fairly new to the OC process, but I have been reading tons and tons and I think I am at a point where I am just not sure where to go next. I can not get OCCT or Prime to run longer than 5 seconds give or take. I can run 3d Vantage and Mark with out issues and it has been stable all day like this.

My set up is:
Ram- 4GB (2X2GB) Patriot EPP 6400LL Series 800MHZ O/C to 926 on 5-5-5-15 2T @ 2.20V
CPU- Q6600 2400 O/C to 3340 idle 34 degress according to core temp (Stepping B3 Rev G0) Can't run a load to see what the loaded temps are
Mobo- Asrock 4CoreTwins P35 Bios 1.40
Water Cooled with Swiftech 220 Kit

Bios settings-
RAM- 5-5-5-15 @ 2.20V CPUID shows the 926Mhz with 4:5 FSB:DRAM
CPU- 371 CPU Freq 1.50 CPUV CPUID shows 3340 -371 Bus 1484FSB @ 1.488V
NB/SB/VTT all set to Auto.

I have played with voltages for a while now.
I had to losen my RAM from 4-4-4-12. (Ran MemTest for 2 hours straight with out errors) To get it to boot properly.

but no matter what it wont run a stable test past 2900. I can boot fine, and I can use the PC fine, just not sure why none of the tests support the over clock. I can drop core volts to 1.48 and I get the same results.. any ideas? I would like to think I should be able to run at 3.3 or even higher given my temps. :help:

Any advice / replies are appreciated.

Thanks!
The test of stability remains some sort of stress testing. Since you have 2 different stress testing programs bothing indicating a failure I suspect it is a real stability problem and not a SW glitch. 371MHz isn't that high a FSB for the P35 chipset. My ASUS P35 board will do over 500MHz.

Maybe as an experiment try determining what the FSB limit on your board is. Lower the multi to 6X and then start raising the FSB until you see stability issues in OCCT or Prime. For example if you lower the multi to 6X and try a FSB of 400 you would be at the default clock of the CPU (2400MHz). If it won't run stable there then it indicates a limitation of your motherboard. Keep going until you know your FSB limit of the board. Then at least you know its limits. You may have to play with voltage settings as you go. Since the FSB is highly dependent on the NorthBridge P35 you may need to bump it's voltage for FSB > 400MHz.

The P35 runs fairly cool (compared to the Nvidia chips anyways) but keep an eye on it when bumping its voltage. A simple finger touch test can suffice. On metal, if you can keep your finger on it, then it less than 60C (rule of thumb... or should I say finger).
__________________
Rig1: Q9550 @3.8GHz Vendetta 2, P5Q-PRO, 6GB OCZ Reaper PC2-8500. 5870 1GB, GT240 Physx, Ultra LSP 750W, 2TB internal + 2TB external, 3X23" 5760X1080 eyefinity + GT240 Physx, HAF22 case 3X200mm : Win7 Pro
Rig2: E8200 @3.6GHz Vendetta HSF, DFI P45 LP-JR, 4GB 900MHz, 4870 512MB, X203W 20", Ultra Gladiator Case
Rig3: Q6600@ 3.5GHz H50, P5Q-PRO, 8GB, 8800GTS512, OCZ GameXStream 850W, Samsung 245BW 24" + 19" dual: Snow Leopard + Parallels Win7
Rig4: MAC mini Snow Leopard
Laptop: Macbook Pro 15"
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 04:07 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,048

My System Specs

Default

Apparently OCCT only stresses 2 cores. Try Prime95 to stress all cores.
Change your ram ratio to 1:1. Ram at 926Mhz is a 15% OC, your ram may not be capable of that. What error code was OCCT coming up with? That should point you in the right direction.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 06:40 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,136
Default

OCCT will do four cores without any trouble. If it doesn't, two of my cores got some explaining to do...
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 08:39 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,048

My System Specs

Default

Well, I stand corrected, sorry. Maybe I was misinformed by a usually reliable source.

Edit: Got Orthos and OCCT mixed up. It's orthos that only stresses 2 cores.

Last edited by SugarJ; September 7, 2008 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 7, 2008, 08:43 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,600

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gazdag6 View Post
Morning all, I am fairly new to the OC process, but I have been reading tons and tons and I think I am at a point where I am just not sure where to go next. I can not get OCCT or Prime to run longer than 5 seconds give or take. I can run 3d Vantage and Mark with out issues and it has been stable all day like this.

My set up is:
Ram- 4GB (2X2GB) Patriot EPP 6400LL Series 800MHZ O/C to 926 on 5-5-5-15 2T @ 2.20V
CPU- Q6600 2400 O/C to 3340 idle 34 degress according to core temp (Stepping B3 Rev G0) Can't run a load to see what the loaded temps are
Mobo- Asrock 4CoreTwins P35 Bios 1.40
Water Cooled with Swiftech 220 Kit

Bios settings-
RAM- 5-5-5-15 @ 2.20V CPUID shows the 926Mhz with 4:5 FSB:DRAM
CPU- 371 CPU Freq 1.50 CPUV CPUID shows 3340 -371 Bus 1484FSB @ 1.488V
NB/SB/VTT all set to Auto.

I have played with voltages for a while now.
I had to losen my RAM from 4-4-4-12. (Ran MemTest for 2 hours straight with out errors) To get it to boot properly.

but no matter what it wont run a stable test past 2900. I can boot fine, and I can use the PC fine, just not sure why none of the tests support the over clock. I can drop core volts to 1.48 and I get the same results.. any ideas? I would like to think I should be able to run at 3.3 or even higher given my temps. :help:

Any advice / replies are appreciated.

Thanks!
Full system specs, please.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old September 11, 2008, 07:36 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Well at this point its moot. I have been down for a while since my mobo died. I have / had a bad ground on my monitor power cable and it passed voltage to the card and while the card is good, the video component of the mobo is shot. I tried 3 different cards in that mobo and got no where, even with the cmos reset and PSU swap...still no video but everything spins up. I replaced the surge protector as well just out of suspect. Its a wonder my monitor never fried...

I am going to move to the P7N Platinum edition from MSI. I replaced one of the other rigs with that board and poped my chip in there and it was able to OC stable to 3.4Ghz very easily, but my wife took that one.

So, new specs will be-
Q6600 G0 SLACR OC to ?????
Patriot EP LL series 800Mhz 4-4-4-12 @2.1V
Maxtor 250Gb HD SATA
EVGA GTX 260
MSI P7n Platinum
Antec 3 Rail 650W PSU
Swiftech WC
Tuniq Case - Forgot what model it is

Still searching for good settings on that board. I don't want to fry anything in it, but want to see how far I can push.

Last edited by gazdag6; September 11, 2008 at 07:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes