Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

But I have already gotten a stable OC at 3.6ghz I am trying to move above and beyond that
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:11 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voklskier4452 View Post
But I have already gotten a stable OC at 3.6ghz I am trying to move above and beyond that
Oops! Right.

Ok set it to 1760 which will give you 4.0 even and set your memory to 880

And the voltages as I specified.

Make sure you are also using a 9x multiplier.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:38 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

Okay I am testing your settings right now and after 7 minutes the first core failed in prime 95. the second core was still running happily So what now?
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voklskier4452 View Post
Okay I am testing your settings right now and after 7 minutes the first core failed in prime 95. the second core was still running happily So what now?
Now you need to figure out how much vdroop you are getting.

Stop the prime test and grab hwmonitor and watch your voltage for your cpu before the test and after the test.

You may have to bump up your northbridge voltage a wee bit too.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

Using HWmonitor the CPU core is going from between 1.37-1.34
and just what setting is the northbridge voltage?
sorry for my ignorance
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 06:55 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

http://www.guru3d.com/imageview.php?image=11611

SPP = North Bridge
MCP = Southbridge

Whats your SPP voltage at?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2008, 07:05 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

The SPP is at 1.4 so I will try bumping it up a little bit..
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 01:29 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

any luck?
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2008, 02:31 AM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

If enaberif's advice doesn't get you stable, i feel you may still need a little more vCore. I would try 1.425v(BIOS), which should give you ~ 1.39 real(CPU-Z/HWMonitor). What is HWMonitor reading your vDDR as? GL
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2008, 11:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 33
Default

okay I am gonna step down to 3.85ghz and see how that goes... But I took both of your advice.. I raised the northbridge to 1.45 and the vCore to 1.425. That gave me 1.4v in CPU-Z during idle and around 1.36-1.37 under load. I don't see a reading in HWmonitor for vDDR.. care to elaborate on which one you want?
__________________
Cooler Master ATCS 840 (black)
Core i7 920 with DD MC-TDX
Asus P6T
EVGA gtx285 (single for now)
Patriot Viper PC3 12800 3x2gb
WD 500gb 7200rpm
WD raptorx 150gb 10000rpm
Corsair 1000HX
Vista Ultimate 64bit
Klipsch pro media 2.1 speakers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes