Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:24 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Question Why did you overclock your E8400?

Greeting guys first let me say that i am not against overclocking so please dont flame me but lately checking around in this forum lately and it seems that no one here use the stock speed of the E8400 that is 3.0ghz and i must it confuse me a little bit because:

1:My girlfriend has this processor in his computer and works very well whit the basic speed it has in games like Company of Heros or World in Conflict.
But if you said that I SHOULD really overclock it then its goes to my second point:

2:The current spec of my girlfriend computer are this one:

Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
Intel Core Duo E8400 3.0G
Artic-Coolling Freezer 7 Pro
Evga 9800 GTX 512mo DDR3
Ocz 2x2048 Megs 1066 Reaper
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
2xWestern Digital 500G Sata 16mo
Antec Power Supply True Power 850 watts
CoolerMaster 690
Window Vista Ultimate 64 bits

Know you the the spec of this computer do you really think that the basic speed of processor sucks bad or i can wait a little bit before overcloking?

Thanks for your reading guys.

Mazabe

P.S.:sorry for the wall of texts guys.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Question Why did you overclock your E8400?

Greeting guys first let me say that i am not against overclocking so please dont flame me but lately checking around in this forum lately and it seems that no one here use the stock speed of the E8400 that is 3.0ghz and i must it confuse me a little bit because:

1:My girlfriend has this processor in his computer and works very well whit the basic speed it has in games like Company of Heros or World in Conflict.
But if you said that I SHOULD really overclock it then its goes to my second point:

2:The current spec of my girlfriend computer are this one:

Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
Intel Core Duo E8400 3.0G
Artic-Coolling Freezer 7 Pro
Evga 9800 GTX 512mo DDR3
Ocz 2x2048 Megs 1066 Reaper
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
2xWestern Digital 500G Sata 16mo
Antec Power Supply True Power 850 watts
CoolerMaster 690
Window Vista Ultimate 64 bits

Know you the the spec of this computer do you really think that the basic speed of processor sucks bad or i can wait a little bit before overcloking?

Thanks for your reading guys.

Mazabe

P.S.:sorry for the wall of texts guys.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:28 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,833
Default

You overclock to go faster. It's that simple. Free performance gains. Yes, 3ghz is fast and runs everything well, but 4ghz is faster and runs everything better.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:37 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Default

You see Squeetard i would like to overclock this processor (if some one had guide how to overclock this processor for the first time.) but the thing is if my girl can handle the upcoming games (like Far Cry 2) well whit the basic speed of the processor then if she good for a while or i really NEED to overclock this thing.

Just a thought no offence.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:45 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Overclocking is a hobby, we do it for fun. It is about squeezing all the performance possible from the hardware you have. If you are happy with stock speeds great, 3Ghz definitely doesnt suck but 4Ghz is always better. ;)

Overclocking rule of thumb is this: If you cant afford to lose any of the hardware you are overclocking, then dont do it!
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:49 PM
CTA's Avatar
CTA CTA is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: surrey (vancouver) bc canada
Posts: 2,012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eldonko View Post
Overclocking rule of thumb is this: If you cant afford to lose any of the hardware you are overclocking, then dont do it!
without warranty then dont do it... ;p


and mod/admin should merge this thread... http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...our-e8400.html
__________________
---
NEW: customize case, hx100, i7 920, supreme hf, x58 sabertooth, 3gbx2 ram of ripjaws, xfx hd6950 CF. vertex 2 60gb, seagate and hitachi 1tb, dual mcp355 with ek rex v2, 2x koolance ar697, 2x mcr320, 6x zm-f3 fans.
OLD: cm 690, hx620, intel q9450, True Black, ga-ep45-ud3p, 2gbx2 ram of mushkin xp2 8500, xfx 285. wd caviar se16 640gb, 4x zm-f3 fans.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 03:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 45
Default

Well you see Eldonko you right i cant afford to broke it because the pieces are still in warranty but the thing is i was worried because its seems that no one use the basic speed so it made me wonder if everyone overclock it theirs to make them more future-proof in upcoming games like Far Cry 2.

P.S. Ahh Crap sorry for the double treads my bad!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 04:30 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Like Eldonko said we do it for fun, and how far you can push the hardware.
For you if your happy with how it is, then I would not OC it.
The system you have can run all the games at good FPS.
Most of us here OC and if we damage our hardware well we replace it.
Some companies will not warranty your damaged hardware if you have OCed it.
That been said if you can not afford to replace hardware then I would leave it at stock settings.
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata , GTX 680, Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H, LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 05:54 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazabe View Post
Greeting guys first let me say that i am not against overclocking so please dont flame me but lately checking around in this forum lately and it seems that no one here use the stock speed of the E8400 that is 3.0ghz and i must it confuse me a little bit because:

1:My girlfriend has this processor in his computer and works very well whit the basic speed it has in games like Company of Heros or World in Conflict.
But if you said that I SHOULD really overclock it then its goes to my second point:

2:The current spec of my girlfriend computer are this one:

Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L
Intel Core Duo E8400 3.0G
Artic-Coolling Freezer 7 Pro
Evga 9800 GTX 512mo DDR3
Ocz 2x2048 Megs 1066 Reaper
Auzentech X-Fi Prelude 7.1
2xWestern Digital 500G Sata 16mo
Antec Power Supply True Power 850 watts
CoolerMaster 690
Window Vista Ultimate 64 bits

Know you the the spec of this computer do you really think that the basic speed of processor sucks bad or i can wait a little bit before overcloking?

Thanks for your reading guys.

Mazabe

P.S.:sorry for the wall of texts guys.
1) Fun
2) Curiosity
3) Self Knowledge
4) Knowledge for others
5) Pushing Limits
6) If you buy Intel and don't overclock sell it for AMD.

The fact is Intel chips have been put out the market to be overclocked and since MOST processors out there can get a 50% overclock quite easily (aside from quads) why wouldn't you?

I had my e8400 upto 4.2ghz from a stock speed of 3.0ghz.

Now mind you the performance difference you see from 3.0 to 4.2 isn't going to be THAT huge and for that reason people may not bother overclocking.

Myself personally I like to see what a CPU is capable and WILL push it just like I did with my e8600. I found that if I gave it like 1.5v I could hit 4.5ghz stable but temps would be over 70 degrees. Now that I've replaced my Tuniq with a Vendetta 2 I'll see what my load temps are again.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2008, 06:11 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,755
Default

"1:My girlfriend has this processor in his computer and works very well whit the basic speed it has in games like Company of Heros or World in Conflict.
But if you said that I SHOULD really overclock it then its goes to my second point:"

Was I the only one that saw this?
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes