Go Back   Hardware Canucks > PC BUILDERS & TWEAKERS CORNER > Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 05:57 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default e8600 Overclocking Results

No pics as of yet as I'm trying to find where this will become stable.

As most know or if you didn't I could get my e8400 stable @ 4.2 with no effort.

So I figured I'd try out the e8600 and see what type of results I'd have with this guy.

I'll post pics up when I finalize the best overclock that I can find.

As it is right now:

4.6 = BSOD with Machine Exception Error
4.5 = Failure
4.4 = Stable

* Temps are in excess of 60 degrees celsius.

4.5ish stable..

Last edited by enaberif; August 19, 2008 at 08:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 08:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default

pic added.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 08:38 PM
yycraven's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Martensville,SK
Posts: 937

My System Specs

Default

Are you using the same set up as you have for your E8400, or is it different.
Nice OCing on the E8600
__________________
ASRock Extreme 3,2500K,NH-D14,Patriot G2 16GB ,WD 750GB,640GB Sata ,2 GTX 470 SLi Thermaltake toughpower XT850W,Tech Station. V243H,2253LW LCD
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 08:43 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yycraven View Post
Are you using the same set up as you have for your E8400, or is it different.
Nice OCing on the E8600
Completely different!

My 8400 clock wouldn't work on this chip.

To get these speeds I have to dump a CRAP load of voltage into it hahaha.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 08:56 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Damn, these 45nm chips just get bitchy past 4GHz, don't they? What kind of cooling were you using?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 09:01 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Damn, these 45nm chips just get bitchy past 4GHz, don't they? What kind of cooling were you using?
Were? Am.

True 120 Extreme with 2 120x38mm fans open air :P

Sitting at about 72 celsius right now hahaha.

But yes once you get them over 4.2-4.3 they start to really hate you.

my 8400 could do 4.3 but preferred 4.2.
this 8600 can do 4.5 but prefers 4.4

And if you think about it..

8400 = 3.0ghz = 4.2 overclock
8600 = 3.3ghz = 4.5 overclock

Got the same overclock out of them just one needed a crap load more volts and runs hotter

So my original thought still sticks.. right now for the best bang for buck the 8400 is the best dual core out there.

But I'm also wondering if my Abit board is limiting this processor.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 09:05 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

What is the max volts 24/7 that these 45nm chips can handle im gonna be using the E3110 Stock voltage of is 1.225 and well from reading around the web they say only go max .20 above that. And btw do you really notice much of an impact between 4.0ghz and 4.5ghz ? I want to keep my max temps at below 50 otherwise my room would definetely get toasty.
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 09:07 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
What is the max volts 24/7 that these 45nm chips can handle im gonna be using the E3110 Stock voltage of is 1.225 and well from reading around the web they say only go max .20 above that. And btw do you really notice much of an impact between 4.0ghz and 4.5ghz ?
In day to day stuff you aren't going even notice a difference between 3.0 to 4.5 :P

I'm just one of those people who likes to push to see how far I can go before I decide to stop or see smoke or hear a loud bang.

For the 45nm chips 1.4v is perfect for 24/7 day to day functions.

I'm leaving this 8600 at 1.5v because I know by the time its ready to die there will be another chip out for me :P

Water cooling will keep temps MUCH cooler than air cooling for most processor. The ambient temps in my office right now is insane.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 09:10 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Yea im surprised you haven't dipped into the water it would reduce your temps and possibly give you more mhz right?
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 19, 2008, 09:12 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dashock View Post
Yea im surprised you haven't dipped into the water it would reduce your temps and possibly give you more mhz right?
I "had" all the equipment for water.. I just didn't do it and sold it off :P
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes